North Northamptonshire Elections 2021: LIVE from the count

It’s the first ever election for the new unitary authority

Were at Kettering Conference Centre for all todays results

We’ll bring you coverage of all of the results from across North Northamptonshire as they happen all day as we report live from Kettering Conference Centre.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

North Northamptonshire Elections 2021: LIVE from the count

Last updated: Saturday, 08 May, 2021, 11:19

  • Good morning from Kettering Conference centre where our team of reporters is covering the first ever North Northants elections
  • The results are coming in thick and fast, we’ll have them all for you as they happen

All the pictures from the night by our photographer Alison Bagley

The images that sum up all the drama at last night’s election count in Kettering

See all the emotion from yesterday’s North Northamptonshire count

Here’s our roundup of all the action from last night’s historic election count

And here’s Ross Armour who got one of the scalps of the night in Corby

Here’s another happy Conservative who managed to win a seat tonight

Here’s what Corby MP Tom Pursglove has to say about tonight’s Tory landslide

Here’s the winning Oundle Conservative team

We’ve spoken to the council’s only Independent Jim Hakewill who visited every polling station in his ward yesterday

I feel elated and I’d like to thank all the people who helped and voted for me.

I’m delighted to be able to continue to represent Rothwell and Mawsley.

I think my success is because I really do my best to engage with residents and fight for things that they want in our area.”

Cllr Jim Hakewill

The final totals are in:

Conservatives have overall control of the council with 60 seats

Labour have 14 seats

Greens have three seats

Independents have one seat


Turnout: 43.43%

Elected are

David Brackenbury (CON) 2,526

Wendy Brackenbury (CON) 2,746

Geoff Shacklock (CON) 2,117


Hope Carpenter (GREEN) 708

Taffy Chikoto (LAB) 599

Jerry Hawkins (LAB) 647

Paul Kirkpatrick (LAB) 782

Val Carter (IND) 1,712

John Smoker (IND) 370

Jack Duckworth (LIB DEM) 398

Iris Lerse (LIB DEM) 349

Just Oundle and Thrapston to go here

Page 1 of 11