Saints star Lawes misses England’s crucial Australia clash

Courtney Lawes will miss England’s crucial World Cup clash with Australia due to a knee injury.

By Tom Vickers
Thursday, 1st October 2015, 12:18 pm
Courtney Lawes will miss England's game against Australia
Courtney Lawes will miss England's game against Australia

But Tom Wood does start at Twickenham on Saturday night and Kieran Brookes is on the bench.

Saints lock Lawes was forced off at half-time during England’s gut-wrenching 28-25 defeat to Wales last Saturday.

That has left Stuart Lancaster’s men in a perilous position and they need to win against the Wallabies this weekend.

Lancaster has brought Ben Morgan and Jonathan Joseph back into the team, with Billy Vunipola, who will miss the rest of the tournament, and Sam Burgess dropping out.

Joe Launchbury comes in for Lawes, with George Kruis taking his place among the replacements, while Nick Easter, who has replaced Vunipola in the squad, is also on the bench.

England head coach Lancaster said: “JJ (Joseph) and Ben Youngs are both fit and raring to go, as are the rest of the squad for what will be a huge game against a very good team.

“England-Australia matches at Twickenham are always massive occasions, this one more than ever, and we want everyone behind us so we can get the result we all want.”

England (v Australia, Twickenham Stadium, 8pm, Saturday, October 3, 2015)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 41 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)

12 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 25 caps)

11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 18 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 33 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 35 caps)

2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 26 caps)

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 54 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 26 caps)

5 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 27 caps)

6 Tom Wood (Saints, 40 caps)

7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 41 caps)

8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 30 caps)


16 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 15 caps)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 25 caps)

18 Kieran Brookes (Saints, 14 caps)

19 George Kruis (Saracens, 8 caps)

20 Nick Easter (Harlequins, 52 caps)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 25 caps)

22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 15 caps)

23 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 4 caps)