Four Saints stars named in England's Six Nations squad

Four Saints stars have been named in England's 36-man squad for the Six Nations.

By Tom Vickers
Tuesday, 18th January 2022, 11:28 am
Tommy Freeman
Tommy Freeman

Uncapped full-back Tommy Freeman, George Furbank, Courtney Lawes and Lewis Ludlam will all link up with the Red Rose.

The squad will convene in Brighton on Monday (January 24) for a five-day training camp.

They will then regroup at Pennyhill Park ahead of their first game, against Scotland, at Murrayfield on Saturday, February 5.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Following the Scotland game, England will travel to Rome to play Italy on Sunday, February 13.

The Red Rose will then return to England for home games at Twickenham against Wales (Saturday, February 26) and Ireland (Saturday, March 12), before finishing the campaign in Paris against France on Saturday, March 19.

Owen Farrell will captain England, while team vice-captains will be announced ahead of each match.

“Selecting this squad has been a difficult task, we’ve got plenty of good young players coming through and some of our more experienced are rediscovering their best form,” said England boss Eddie Jones.

“We think this 36 for the first training week reflects a good balance of that experience and up-and-coming talent. In Brighton we’ll focus on getting the fundamentals of our game in play right and developing the cohesion of the team.

“The Six Nations is going to be the most competitive we’ve ever seen. All the countries performed well in the autumn, so we need to be at our best and improve with every game.”

England squad for Guinness Six Nations training camp


Alfie Barbeary (Wasps, uncapped)

Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 5 caps)

Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 31 caps)

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 36 caps)

Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 4 caps)

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)

Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 31 caps)

Jamie George (Saracens, 61 caps)

Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)

Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)

Maro Itoje (Saracens, 51 caps)

Courtney Lawes (Saints, 90 caps)

Lewis Ludlam (Saints, 10 caps)

Joe Marler (Harlequins, 74 caps)

Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)

Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)

Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 47 caps)

Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 15 caps)


Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap)

Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 94 caps)

Tommy Freeman (Saints, uncapped)

George Furbank (Saints, 5 caps)

Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, uncapped)

Max Malins (Saracens, 10 caps)

Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 7 caps)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 69 caps)

Luke Northmore (Harlequins, uncapped)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 34 caps)

Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)

Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 2 caps)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 43 caps)

Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 5 caps)

Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 112 caps)