Steelmen and Diamonds heading north while Poppies stay south

Corby Town and AFC Rushden & Diamonds are both set to head north for the 2016-17 season after the Football Association released details of the league allocations for Steps 1-4.

Friday, 13th May 2016, 8:18 am
Updated Friday, 13th May 2016, 9:21 am
Corby Town's Steel Park looks set to host Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Premier Division football next season

In the provisional lists, which will have to be ratified by all the leagues at their annual meetings over the next few weeks, the Steelmen have been placed in the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Premier Division following their relegation from the Vanarama National League North.

Diamonds, meanwhile, are looking set to play in the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Division One South having been switched from the Southern League Division One Central after they just missed out on promotion when losing to St Ives Town in the play-off final.

St Ives will now face Kettering Town next season with the Poppies remaining in the Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

There will be some big trips for the Steelmen in the next campaign with the likes of Blyth Spartans and Workington awaiting them while further new opponents for the Poppies being Basingstoke Town, Banbury United, Cinderford Town, Hayes & Yeading United and Kings Langley,

Diamonds, meanwhile, will renew acquaintances with Spalding United, with whom they did battle in the United Counties League while local clashes with Stamford and Rugby Town also lie ahead.

Provisional leagues for next season

Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Premier Division

Ashton United, Barwell, Blyth Spartans, Buxton, Coalville Town, Corby Town, Frickley Athletic, Grantham Town, Halesowen Town, Hednesford Town, Ilkeston FC, Marine, Matlock Town, Mickleover Sports, Nantwich Town, Rushall Olympic, Skelmersdale United, Spennymoor Town, Stafford Rangers, Stourbridge, Sutton Coldfield Town, Warrington Town, Whitby Town, Workington.

Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division

Banbury United, Basingstoke Town, Biggleswade Town, Cambridge City, Chesham United, Chippenham Town, Cinderford Town, Cirencester Town, Dorchester Town, Dunstable Town, Frome Town, Hayes & Yeading United, Hitchin Town, Kettering Town, Kings Langley, Leamington, Merthyr Town, Redditch United, Slough Town, St Ives Town, St Neots Town, Stratford Town, Weymouth.

Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Division One South

AFC Rushden & Diamonds, Basford United, Bedworth United, Belper Town, Carlton Town, Chasetown, Gresley, Kidsgrove Athletic, Leek Town, Lincoln United, Loughborough Dynamo, Market Drayton Town, Newcastle Town, Northwich Victoria, Romulus, Rugby Town, Sheffield, Shaw Lane Aquaforce, Spalding United, Stamford, Stocksbridge Park Steels, Witton Albion.