Poppies join other clubs in calling for 'Covid testing regime' to keep fixtures going

The National League's divisions are currently voting on whether the seasons should continue

Kettering Town's Latimer Park home
Kettering Town's Latimer Park home

Kettering Town are one of 13 clubs across the National League North and South divisions to have called for a ‘fully funded Covid testing regime’ to be put in place in order to keep fixtures going.

Clubs in the three National League divisions are currently voting on whether the season should continue in the long term.

However, it is understood that scheduled fixtures should continue while the voting process takes place with the Poppies due to be hosting Chester at Latimer Park on Saturday.

But while the clubs included in the statement say they “support the re-commencement of all viable fixtures”, they have demanded a testing regime for Covid to be put in place.

The statement released this evening (Thursday) read: “All undersigned clubs support the re-commencement of all viable fixtures until the results of the resolution are known, but only when both clubs participating in a fixture are in agreement and when there is a fully funded Covid testing regime in place, as both the NL (National League) and it’s member clubs have a duty of care for the safety of players and staff.

"Clubs who are unable to commit to fixtures should continue to have their season held in suspense by the league and do so without fear of sanctions.

"Furthermore, we have agreed to submit our votes on the resolutions to the National League as soon as reasonably practical and implore all clubs at Steps 1 & 2 to do likewise.

"Any delay or abstaining from voting would be damaging for the clubs in the most urgent situations. We must finish the season with all 66 clubs in existence.”

The clubs and chairman/owners who have signed the statement are: AFC Telford United – Andy Pryce, Bath City – Paul Williams, Blyth Spartans – Tony Platten, Bradford (Park Avenue) – Martin Knight, Curzon Ashton – Rob Hurst, Dulwich Hamlet – Ben Clasper, Farsley Celtic – Joshua Greaves, Gateshead – Neil Pinkerton, Guiseley AFC – Gary Douglas, Kettering Town – Ritchie Jeune, Southport FC – Ian Kyle, Slough Town – Kay Lathey, Spennymoor Town – Tony Wilson.