Tories take control of Kettering Town Council as Green success continues

The results are in

Saturday, 8th May 2021, 6:31 pm
Updated Saturday, 8th May 2021, 6:32 pm
Green Party members celebrate another successful day

The Conservatives won a majority at the first ever Kettering Town Council elections with Labour beaten to second by the Green Party.

A total of 11 out of 20 seats on the new council turned blue at today's (Saturday's) count at Kettering Conference Centre, with five going green and just four becoming red.

The town council - set up after Northamptonshire's eight biggest councils were disbanded and replaced with two unitary authorities - will have the same powers as a parish council and will provide some town services.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Lloyd Bunday (left) was successful but Ash Davies (right) missed out.

And it will be a new-look authority with just six of the 20 representatives serving the area under the previous Kettering Borough Council including former Tory executive committee members Lloyd Bunday, Mark Rowley and Scott Edwards, ex-mayor Keli Watts and long-standing Maggie Don, who won her seat by just seven votes.

It was another superb day for Kettering's Green Party who swept up in the All Saints and Brambleside wards, winning all five seats on offer having campaigned to save Weekley Hall Wood. Their success came after they made history yesterday by taking all three seats in the North Northamptonshire Council election for Clover Hill, becoming the county's first elected Green councillors in style.

But there was disappointment today for former Kettering councillors Greg Titcombe (Con), Ash Davies (Con), Lesley Thurland (Con), Andrew Dutton (Lib Dem), Ian Jelley (Con) and Anne Lee (Lab), who all missed out.

The new representatives for Kettering Town Council are:

Scott Edwards (in blue) watches proceedings.


Sarah Tubbs (Green)

Emily-Rose Fedorowycz (Green)

James Towns (Green)

Count staff hard at work.


Carolyn Carter (Con)

Clark Mitchell (Lab)


Clark Mitchell (left) was one of just four Labour successes.

Dez Dell (Green)

Keiron Farrow (Green)


Lloyd Bunday (Con)

Craig Skinner (Con)

Alexander Evelyn (Con)


Bev Wright (Lab)


Robin Carter (Con)

Mark Rowley (Con)


Scott Edwards (Con)

Eve Edwards (Con)

Maggie Don (Lab)


Anup Pandey (Con)

Martyn York (Con)


Keli Watts (Lab)

Daniel Perrett (Con)