Vote for your community heroes as Spirit of Corby Awards shortlist announced

Voting open now and continues until Friday, March 12

Monday, 8th March 2021, 12:40 pm

A celebration of the people of Corby who go above and beyond to inspire and help their community has started with the names of the nominees in the Spirit of Corby Awards revealed today.

Corby residents who have above and beyond to help their town will be honoured not at the usual awards ceremony, but have the trophies delivered to their homes.

Winners will be chosen by members of the public casting their votes online with voting open now and continuing until Friday, March 12.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Who will get your vote in the Spirit of Corby Awards?

Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the council was forced to cancel the Spirit of Corby Awards for 2020 and sadly will not be able to hold its usual awards evening before April 2021 when the local authority will merge to form a unitary council with the north of the county.

Deputy leader of Corby council, Cllr Jean Addison, said: “Choosing nominees for the 2021 Spirit of Corby Awards was a difficult task, as it always is, but we are so pleased with our choices and we can’t wait to get the voting process going and find out who the winners of the very last Spirit of Corby Awards will be.

“It has been a difficult year for everyone, but as always, the people of Corby have kept going and we have seen some wonderful tasks carried out to keep spirits high throughout the borough. Well done to all those nominated for this year’s awards.”

The 2021 nominees are:

Community Spirit Award

This award is for an individual or group who has worked towards making their area a safer or stronger community, whether it’s through contributing to reducing crime and anti-social behaviour or simply being an active member of the community who gives time to make a difference in their area. Nominees are Dr Emily Winters, the Autumn Centre Staff and Ambulance First Responders Group.

Environmental Spirit Award

The award is for an individual or group who have worked to protect or improve the natural or built environment or promoted environmentally responsible attitudes and behaviour such as recycling or energy saving. Nominees are The Corby Wombles, and Corby Town Centre Cleaning, Security and Maintenance Team.

Creative Spirit Award

This award is for an individual or group who has shown a talent or given up time to help develop others in the arts in Corby including music, theatre, art, dance and literature, or who has shown general creativity through arts and crafts. The nominees are Sophia Madden, Katie Carey and Jason Strachan and Gary McQuade - creators of the Ice Bin Challenge fundraiser.

Club Spirit Award

The award is for an individual or a group who has contributed towards a local club or society, such as sporting, social or voluntary groups, or nominate for whole club or group for what they bring for the community. Nominees are Jonathan Haigh and Helping Hands Corby.

Educational Spirit Award

This award is for an individual or a group who has enriched their lives through a commitment to lifelong learning, who has returned to education, achieved excellence in their chosen field, or who inspires others with their enthusiasm and love for learning. Nominees are Caroline Haynes and Jez Lyndsey

Young Spirit of Corby Award

Presented to a young Corby resident (under 25) who has made a contribution to their local community, is an example to their friends, may have excelled in music, education and sport, or has perhaps overcome adversity to show the real ‘Spirit of Corby’. Nominees are Alyssa’s Legacy of Love, Caeden Thomson and Zoe McGhee

Special 2020 Award

This is for someone who has made a real contribution to their community throughout the pandemic, supporting others, being a role model to others through their voluntary work. Nominees are Anne Smith, Tracy Glen and James Steele.

An overall Spirit of Corby Award winner will be chosen from the winners of the other awards.

The public will have until midday on Friday, March 12, to vote for their favourites by clicking here. Due to Covid-19 restrictions, the usual ceremony cannot take place, so winners will be announced online.