Opposition Labour group elect their North Northamptonshire leadership team

The Labour group has 14 councillors

Tuesday, 18th May 2021, 10:08 am
Updated Tuesday, 18th May 2021, 10:10 am
Top: John McGhee (deputy leader) and Mark Pengelly (chair) Bottom: Jean Addison (leader) and Lyn Buckingham (secretary)

The new North Northamptonshire Labour group elected their leadership team at a meeting last night (Monday, May 17).

The group represents the biggest opposition party on North Northamptonshire Council, with 14 councillors - 12 of them in Corby, one in Kettering and one in Wellingborough.

The Conservatives have 60 councillors, the Greens three, and there is one independent member.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Experienced Councillor Jean Addison, who had been shadow leader of the Labour Group for several months during the transition period and is the former deputy leader of Corby Borough Council, was elected as the Labour group leader .

Councillor John McGhee was elected as deputy leader. Cllr McGhee brings his wealth of experience to the new group, gained during his time leading the Northants Labour Group at County Hall for many years. He has also served as a Corby borough and county councillor for more than twenty years .

Although last week's Conservative contest was a lively affair, with three candidates for leader and four for the deputy position, both of Labour's leadership roles were unopposed.

Labour members also voted in newcomer Councillor Lyn Buckingham as group secretary. Cllr Buckingham was part of the team that helped save Corby's Urgent Care Centre and was one of three Labour councillors elected to Corby's Lloyds Ward.

Chair of the group is stalwart Councillor Mark Pengelly, who has served as a borough councillor in Corby for 26 years and helps organise the town's Highland Gathering.

Chief whip is former Corby mayor Councillor Matt Keene and the treasurer was named as Councilllor Valerie Anslow, who won the group's only seat in Wellingborough at the elections earlier this month.

The first full council meeting will take place on Wednesday, May 26.