Just three political parties to fight Corby and East Northants seat

A triumvirate of candidates from the three main political parties will battle it out for the Corby constituency seat.

Thursday, 14th November 2019, 8:27 pm
Updated Thursday, 14th November 2019, 8:39 pm
Tom Pursglove, Beth Miller and Chris Stanbra

The deadline for nominations for next month’s general election was at 4pm this afternoon (Thursday, November 14) and Corby Council published the list of candidates just an hour later.

It had originally been expected that several more candidates might stand in Corby, which is likely to be very closely contested and is a bellwether seat that usually returns a candidate from the party which eventually forms a government.

But the Brexit party candidate stood down earlier this week after the group decided not to field candidates against sitting Conservatives.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Now Labour’s Beth Miller, Conservative Tom Pursglove and Liberal Democrat Chris Stanbra will fight for election on December 12.

At the last election in 2017 Mr Pursglove won 29,534 of the votes, with Ms Miller in second place on 26,844.

Mr Pursglove has been the town MP since 2015, while Ms Miller has had a successful Westminster career working in various advisory positions including at the Bank of England and the House of Lords. Mr Stanbra is a Northamptonshire County Councillor for Danesholme Ward.