Top 11 places to go for afternoon tea in Northamptonshire, according to Google Reviews

For those of you who are looking to dine on scrumptious sandwiches and sweet treats, we have compiled a guide on where to go for afternoon tea in Northamptonshire

Wednesday, 28th October 2020, 5:37 pm
Updated Thursday, 29th October 2020, 3:34 pm
There are so many beautiful places in Northamptonshire to relax with an afternoon tea.

The concept of ‘Afternoon Tea’ was established as a mini meal in Britain from the early 1840s to sate people’s appetites in anticipation for the evening meal typically around 8pm.

A typical afternoon tea comprises sandwiches, cakes, pastries and scones with clotted cream and jam.

This afternoon ritual is still carried out today for both the purpose of celebrations and for informal get-togethers with friends and family.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

This tea room in Wellingborough was ranked 4.8 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One month ago, a reviewer commented: “Amazing service. Homemade soup I recommend. Hygiene is 10/10. During this pandemic they have stuck with the guidelines, cleaning tables regularly. Very well mannered and very polite service. Great for all ages.”

We consulted Google Reviews to put together a list of the highest ranked places to go for afternoon tea in Northamptonshire.

This tea room nestled in the village of Walgrave in Northampton was ranked 4.8 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, two months ago, said: “Had an amazing lunch today with a friend. I had the bacon roll and she had the chicken and avocado sandwich, both were delicious! Best bacon roll I’ve ever had!”
This tea room in Northampton ranked 4.8 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, a month ago, commented: “My wife and I came here for an afternoon tea. We had the takeaway box and it was fantastic. Really sweet and novel idea. Even took one away for my mother in law. Great surroundings and charming staff too.”
This tea room in Duston, Northampton ranked 4.6 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, a month ago, said: “This cafe is so friendly and the food is great.”
This cafe in Northampton scored 4.7 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, two months ago, commented: “Had eggs Benedict, my first time ever and it was delicious. Very friendly service, felt welcomed given the current circumstances. Oh and the lemon drizzle cake is epic.”
This tea room in Kettering ranked 4.7 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, who visited a week ago, said: “Lovely tearoom, delicious milkshakes and tasty sandwiches, staff are very friendly and polite.”
This deli in Wellingborough scored 4.7 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One commenter, who visited a week ago, said: “Total value for money, staff friendly & helpful.”
This tea room in Towcester ranked 4.6 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, who visited a week ago, said: “Went there with my boyfriends family and am already planning to take my own family there! Quaint and peaceful atmosphere and SO MUCH FRESH PRODUCE. Freshly made, delicious and lovely staff. Very cheap for the amount of food and there are also vegan options! Overall, a lovely place for a spot of tea and lunch.”
This tea room in Northampton ranked 4.6 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One reviewer, three months ago, said: “Five stars minimum! Great, flexible service, pandemic-adapted brilliantly. The food was packaged beautifully for the takeaway afternoon tea I ordered for 7, the food was absolutely delicious and I really honestly can't wait to go back!”
This shop in Earls Barton, Northampton ranked 4.5 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One visitor commented: “What can I say this is a lovely place for coffee or lunch or to celebrate any occasion. My family surprised us with a lovely gathering for our ruby wedding it was wonderful for food and everything else staff went out of way to accommodate our family and friends."
This tea room in Kettering ranked 4.5 out of five stars on Google Reviews. One person, who visited a week ago, said: “Just had a lovely cream tea at this warm and welcoming tea room, with my mum, my daughter and my granddaughter. Mum loved the wartime decor and music, it took her back to her younger days and being in the forces, a real trip down memory lane.”