Westfield book a place as semi-finals are confirmed

All quarter-finals have now been completed in the three Kettering & District Table Tennis League cup competitions.

Thursday, 16th March 2017, 5:45 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:42 am
Sam Wildman

Millman Salver specialists Westfield A started strongly and raced into a 14-6 lead by game five against Corby Halesowen.

Neil Stone, Keith McLaren and John Hunt halved the next three games to halt Westfield’s progress before Kevin Bird’s single point in game nine against Stone settled the tie.

Hunt and Stone’s 3-1 doubles consolation victory reduced Westfield’s winning score to 22-18.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Higham’s 21-19 win over Harborough B looked to be another close match but Higham led 19-9 after seven games and scored the winning point in game nine to lead 21-12.

Harborough won the remaining seven ends to reduce Higham’s victory margin to two points.

Liam Burnham scored eight points for Harborough with Richard Bashford matching him for Higham.

Rothborough Dakotas booked their semi-final spot with a convincing 27-13 victory over Burton Baptist Team Jim.

Unusually the Team Jim youngsters Harry Lade, Ben Freeman and Jacob Tattersall all had a bad match and didn’t cope with Dakotas’ experienced side’s handicap.

Cathy Fleming and Sally Taylor starred for Dakotas with nine and 10 points each.

Rothborough Arrows received a walkover from their quarter-final against Thrapston Kites

Results: Westfield A 22 (Bird (SCR) 7/5, Stefanov (SCR) 7/5, Silk (SCR) 7/5, Bird/Silk (SCR) 1/3) Corby Halesowen 18 (Hunt (+7) 4/8, Stone (+7) 7/5, McLaren (+7) 4/8, Hunt/Stone (+7) 3/1), Burton Baptist Team Jim 13 (Lade (SCR) 3/9, Freeman (+3) 2/10, Tattersall (+1) 6/6, Lade/Tattersall (+1) 2/2) Rothborough Dakotas 27 (Yeomans (+6) 6/6, Fleming (+5) 9/3, Taylor (+7) 10/2, Fleming/Taylor (+6) 2/2), Harborough B 19 (Burnham (+4) 8/4, Crook (+5) 2/10, Brocklebank (+4) 5/7, Burnham/Brocklebank (+4) 4/0) Higham 21 (Bashford (+1) 8/4, Nannery (+2) 6/6, Harrison (+2) 7/5, Bashford/Nannery (+1) 0/4), Rothborough Arrows w/o Thrapston Kites.

The all-Corby clash between Lyveden Fields and Halesowen in the Points Cup ended in a narrow eight-point 420-412 win for the former.

Kyle Murie, Chris Haynes and Henry Arthur steadily made inroads into Halesowen’s 260-point start and there was only a single point difference after nine singles.

Thrapston Falcons booked their semi-final place with a 406-396 victory over Old Village.

Mike Burrows and Beth Tyler only conceded 62 points in their seven games but Andy Hamson’s inexperience showed and he conceded 108 to the Falcons trio of Nigel Payne, Antony Marray and Ian Baldock.

In a similar match at Burton Baptist Church Hall, Westfield C defeated Burton Baptist E 424-411.

Sam Wildman, Steve Hobbs and Matt Rushton proved too consistent and made few mistakes in reducing Burton’s 280 point handicap to 10 points after nine singles had been played.

Jim Chatburn and Mark Waterfield battled away in the doubles to secure 23 points to fall 13 short.

On an adjoining table, Burton Baptist C clinched the remaining last-four spot with a comfortable 472-417 win over Harborough A.

Chris Agg, Paul Goodman and Derek Muggleton, with a 160-point starting advantage, played well above their league form and never really looked like relinquishing their lead.

Kevin Shield gained 46 points on handicap but his higher ranked team-mates Barry and Nathan Thompson were unable to match his performance.

Results: Burton Baptist E (+280) 411 (Chatburn 43/126, Mills 21/126, Waterfield 43/126, Waterfield/Chatburn 23/46) Westfield C (SCR) 424 (Wildman 126/28, Hobbs 126/32, Rushton 126/48, Wildman/Hobbs 46/23), Burton Baptist C (+160) 472 (Agg 93/124, Goodman 97/125, Muggleton 94/126, Agg/Goodman 28/42) Harborough A (SCR) 417 (B Thompson 125/104, N Thompson 124/100, Shield 126/80, Shield/B Thompson 42/28), Thrapston Falcons (SCR) 406 (Payne 128/65, Marray 126/58, Baldock 120/71, Baldock/Payne 32/42) Old Village (+160) 396 (Burrows 84/120, Tyler 92/128, Hamson 18/126, Burrows/Tyler 42/32), Corby Lyveden Fields (SCR) 420 (Murie 126/35, Haynes 126/38, Arthur 126/46, Haynes/Arthur 42/33) Corby Halesowen (+260) 412 (McLaren 50/126, Hunt 45/126, Woolston 24/126 Hunt/McLaren 33/42).