Wellingborough seal a national title in Worthing

editorial image

Northamptonshire have won the Fours title at the Men’s National Bowls Championship.

The Wellingborough team of Mark Corbyn, Darren Lyman, Neil Corbyn and Paul Broderick sealed the crown at Beach House Park in Worthing.

They beat Cambridgeshire 29-10 in the final with their opponents conceding after 18 ends.

The Cambridgeshire team of Martin Pankhurst, Kevin Bane, Ian Miller and Richard Catton from Cambridge & County BC were the winners of this fours title in 2010.

The Northants rink was on top form, led all the way and fully deserved the victory, which was to the delight of not only the County President John Chester and Bowls England President Stuart Lake, who are both from Wellingborough BC, but also of the many supporters who were there to enjoy the moment.

Earlier in the day they had defeated a rink from the Grantham BC in a very close affair which went to an extra end.