Wood, Lawes and Brookes make England squad, but Burrell, Clark and Corbisiero miss out

Luther Burrell
Luther Burrell

Saints stars Tom Wood and Courtney Lawes as well as new signing Kieran Brookes are celebrating after being named in the England squad for the Rugby World Cup.

But there is heartbreak for Luther Burrell, Calum Clark and Alex Corbisiero, who all miss out.

Calum Clark

Calum Clark

The group of 17 forwards and 14 backs – drawn from eight Premiership clubs – will open their campaign against Fiji at Twickenham Stadium on Friday, September 18.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It’s really positive that we have such depth and options to choose from.

“Selection wasn’t easy and it is tough to leave anyone out but it’s important to stress that the players not in this group are still part of our wider squad and could come in at any point.

“After 10 weeks in camp we have made our final selection of players and we believe we have a great group to take us into the tournament.

Alex Corbisiero

Alex Corbisiero

“With three weeks to go before we play Fiji we feel we are in good shape as we head into next Saturday’s game against Ireland.

“As the excitement builds around the tournament we are looking forward to the country getting behind England and we know this group of players will represent the nation with pride.”

England 2015 Rugby World Cup squad


Courtney Lawes

Courtney Lawes

Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 10 caps)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps)

Joe Marler (Harlequins, 32 caps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 22 caps)

Tom Wood

Tom Wood

David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 43 caps)


Jamie George (Saracens, 1 cap)

Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 13 caps)

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps)

Second rows:

George Kruis (Saracens, 8 caps)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 23 caps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 39 caps)

Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 24 caps)

Back rows:

James Haskell (Wasps, 60 caps)

Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 28 caps)

Chris Robshaw (captain, Harlequins, 38 caps)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 18 caps)

Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 37 caps)

Scrum halves:

Danny Care (Harlequins, 52 caps)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 22 caps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)

Fly halves:

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 30 caps)

George Ford (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)


Brad Barritt (Saracens, 22 caps)

Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap)

Back three:

Mike Brown (Harlequins, 38 caps)

Alex Goode (Saracens, 18 caps)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 15 caps)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 10 caps)