Six Saints earn England call-up for Six Nations training squads

Saints lock Christian Day has been named in the England Saxons squad
Saints lock Christian Day has been named in the England Saxons squad

Six Saints stars have been named in England’s 34-man training squad for the Six Nations.

Alex Corbisiero, Dylan Hartley, Calum Clark, Tom Wood, Stephen Myler and Luther Burrell are all included.

Lee Dickson has been left out, but will captain the Saxons, with Christian Day and Alex Waller also named in that party.

Kieran Brookes, who will join Saints from Newcastle Falcons, is another man selected for the Saxons’ game against Ireland Wolfhounds in Cork on January 30.

As for those named in the senior group, the target will be the Six Nations opener against Wales in Cardiff on February 6.

Courtney Lawes will miss the first few weeks of the tournament after having an operation on his injured ankle, while Ben Foden is out for the season after rupturing his anterior cruciate ligament.

“Many players are putting their hand up in the Aviva Premiership and Europe and they have a chance to impress in training as we build towards the games against Wales and the Wolfhounds,” said England head coach Stuart Lancaster, who has named Sale’s Danny Cipriani and Harlequins No.8 Nick Easter in his senior squad.

“We have plenty of players to consider and with some players still being assessed from last weekend after suffering knocks we have kept our options open.

“It’s a big European weekend ahead and there may be further changes once we assess the fitness of the players after round six and we will provide an update on Monday.

“We will use the four-day training camp and the Saxons game to narrow down selection as we lead into the opening game against Wales.

“We will be without Joe Launchbury and Ben [Morgan] and it was a real shame to see Ben Foden pick up his injury up last weekend. We will continue to work with Northampton Saints and Leicester Tigers with Courtney and Manu [Tuilagi] to see where they are as the Six Nations progresses.”

England senior squad: Forwards: Attwood (Bath), Clark (Saints), Cole (Leicester), Corbisiero (Saints), Easter (Harlequins), Hartley (Saints), Haskell (Wasps), Kitchener (Leicester), Kruis (Saracens), Marler (Harlequins), Parling (Leicester), Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), M Vunipola (Saracens), B Vunipola (Saracens), Wilson (Bath), Wood (Saints), T Youngs (Leicester). Backs: Barritt (Saracens), Brown (Harlequins), Burrell (Saints), Care (Harlequins), Cipriani (Sale), Eastmond (Bath), Farrell (Saracens), Ford (Bath), Goode (Saracens), Joseph (Bath), May (Gloucester), Myler (Saints), Nowell (Exeter), Twelvetrees (Gloucester), Watson (Bath), Wigglesworth (Saracens), B Youngs (Leicester).

England Saxons squad: Forwards: Brookes (Newcastle), Croft (Leicester), Day (Saints), Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), Ewers (Exeter), Garvey (Bath), Harrison (Sale), Itoje (Saracens), Kvesic (Gloucester), Mullan (Wasps), Thomas (Bath), Waldrom (Exeter), A Waller (Saints), Webber (Bath). Backs: Ashton (Saracens), Burgess (Bath, Daly (Wasps), Devoto (Bath), Dickson (Saints, captain), Pennell (Worcester), Simpson (Wasps), Slade (Exeter), Yarde (Harlequins), Wade (Wasps).