Nine Northampton Saints players selected for England training camp

Stephen Myler is one of nine Saints players selected to take part in England's training camp this week (picture: Linda Dawson)
Stephen Myler is one of nine Saints players selected to take part in England's training camp this week (picture: Linda Dawson)

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has named nine Saints players in his 55-man squad for a four-day training camp in Loughborough this week.

The quintet of Alex Corbisiero, Dylan Hartley, Courtney Lawes, Calum Clark and Tom Wood are among the forwards while Lee Dickson, Stephen Myler, Luther Burrell and Ben Foden complete the Franklin’s Gardens representation in the backs.

The main purpose of the camp will be to assess England’s 3-0 series loss in New Zealand while it will also give Lancaster and the rest of his coaches the opportunity to run the rule over their players ahead of unveiling the new Elite Player Squad in October.

“This camp will give us a chance to get the wider squad together and an opportunity to review the New Zealand tour,” said Lancaster.

“It will be an important few days for us in terms of complementing the work that the clubs have been doing in pre-season with their strength and conditioning but also from a rugby point of view. The next time we meet will be two weeks before we play New Zealand in the QBE Internationals so this time together is vital.”



Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Matt Mullan (Wasps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)


Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons)

Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby)

David Wilson (Bath Rugby)


Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

Rob Webber (Bath Rugby)

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)

Joe Launchbury (Wasps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)

Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)


Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)

Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)

Will Fraser (Saracens)

James Haskell (Wasps)

Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)

Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)

Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Jackson Wray (Saracens)


Danny Care (Harlequins)

Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)

Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

George Ford (Bath Rugby)

Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)


Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers)

Brad Barritt (Saracens)

Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)

Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)

Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby)

Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)

Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)


Chris Ashton (Saracens)

Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)

Alex Goode (Saracens)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)

Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors)

Marland Yarde (Harlequins)

Christian Wade (Wasps)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)