Haywood and Nutley get the call as Saints gear up for Bath test

BACK IN THE STARTING LINE-UP - Ben Nutley will start Saturday's game against Bath (Picture: Linda Dawson)
BACK IN THE STARTING LINE-UP - Ben Nutley will start Saturday's game against Bath (Picture: Linda Dawson)
Share this article

Saints have made just the two enforced changes to the team that beat Worcester Warriors for Saturday’s Aviva Premiership showdown with Bath at Franklin’s Gardens (ko 3pm).

England pair Dylan Hartley and Courtney Lawes will both be on Six Nations duty at Twickenham on Saturday, and they are replaced in the Saints starting line-up by Mike Haywood and Ben Nutley.

Nutley will start in the back row, with Samu Manoa moving into the second row to replace Lawes.

And Haywood says that the Saints players are looking to building on the win at Worcester

“We’re looking forward to this weekend and taking on Bath,” said the hooker, who has played in 22 of the Saints’ 25 matches this season.

“We were looking for a performance at Worcester last week and we knew that it was a must-win game for us.

“It was a tough place to play and we were happy with how we played.

“But we know that Bath is going to be a really big challenge for us.

“We want to get a win on our home pitch and keep the momentum going, and hopefully we can take the good things from last week into tomorrow’s game.”

Phil Dowson will skipper the team in the absence of Hartley, while England squad men Ben Foden and Lee Dickson both start.

Tickets are still available for the game, with prices starting at £28 for adults and £18 for juniors and concessions.

Order by calling 01604 581000 or visiting www.northamptonsaints.co.uk/tickets.

Saints team to play Bath, Aviva Premiership, Franklin’s Gardens, Saturday, February 23, 2013, 3pm: Ben Foden; James Wilson, George Pisi, Tom May, Jamie Elliott; Stephen Myler, Lee Dickson; Soane Tonga’uiha, Mike Haywood, Tom Mercey, Samu Manoa, Mark Sorenson, Phil Dowson, Ben Nutley, GJ Van Velze.

Replacements: Ross McMillan, Alex Waller, Paul Doran-Jones, James Craig, Rhys Oakley, Martin Roberts, Ryan Lamb, Dom Waldouck