Fotuali’i in for first start as Saints make four changes for Harlequins trip

IN - Kahn Fotuali'i will make his first start for Saints at Harlequins tomorrow (Picture: Linda Dawson)
IN - Kahn Fotuali'i will make his first start for Saints at Harlequins tomorrow (Picture: Linda Dawson)

Saints have made four changes to the starting line-up for Friday night’s Aviva Premiership trip to Harlequins.

Although Jim Mallinder’s men thrashed Exeter 38-11 on the opening day of the season, the director of rugby has rotated his squad for tomorrow’s game at the Twickenham Stoop.

Out go George Pisi, Phil Dowson, Sam Dickinson and Lee Dickson, and they are replaced by James Wilson, Calum Clark, Samu Manoa and Kahn Fotuali’i.

Scrum-half Fotuali’i will be making his first start in the black, green and gold, while Dickinson has been left out despite making a man-of-the-match performance against the Chiefs on his debut last weekend.

Former Saints prop Paul Doran-Jones will be making his Quins debut against his former club, while England captain Chris Robshaw also starts.

Friday’s game is being broadcast exclusively on BT Sport, which for one night only is free for all Sky (channels 413(HD)/426), Virgin Media (channels 547/549(HD)) and Freeview (channel 57) customers. Coverage starts at 7pm.

Saints team to play Harlequins, Aviva Premiership, Twickenham Stoop, Friday, September 13, 2013 (Kick off 7.45pm): Ben Foden; Ken Pisi, James Wilson, Luther Burrell, George North; Stephen Myler, Kahn Fotuali’i; Alex Corbisiero, Dylan Hartley, Tom Mercey, Courtney Lawes, Christian Day, Tom Wood, Calum Clark, Samu Manoa.

Replacements: Mike Haywood, Alex Waller, Gareth Denman, Sam Dickinson, Phil Dowson, Lee Dickson, George Pisi, Jamie Elliott.

Harlequins team: Mike Brown; Tom Williams, George Lowe, Tom Casson, Ugo Monye; Nick Evans, Danny Care; Joe Marler, Joe Gray,Paul Doran Jones, George Merrick, George Robson, Maurie Fa’asavalu, Chris Robshaw, Nick Easter

Replacements: Rob Buchanan, Mark Lambert, Will Collier, Tom Guest, Luke Wallace, Karl Dickson, Ben Botica, Sam Smith