Holders suffer Trophy exit at hands of club-mates

Evie Elliott
Evie Elliott

Holders Westfield B were dumped out of the Kettering & District Table Tennis League’s Borough Trophy at the first hurdle by club-mates Westfield D.

Matt Horrocks put the holders in front defeating Duncan Brudenall 21-17, 21-17 but this success was short-lived and two wins from Paul Malpass and Chris Alder and one from Brudenall secured a 5-1 winning score.

On an adjoining table, Premier Division champions Westfield A were also first-round losers when they were beaten 6-3 by Corby Lyveden Fields.

Kyle Murie starred with an impressive maximum, all requiring a deciding end. A Chris Haynes double and one from Henry Arthur added the other three points.

Higham limped over the line against two-man Harborough A 5-4.

Two wins each from father and son Barry and Nathan Thompson tied the scores at 4-4 before Andy Harrison won the ninth game 21-17, 21-17 to deny Harborough an unlikely win.

The all-Division Three clash between Burton Baptist E and Corby Smash D also went down to the wire with Smash taking it 5-4.

Jim Chatburn and Mark Waterfield scored doubles for Baptist and David Morgan and Alex Cochrane replied with two each. Gareth Clarke’s single was the deciding factor.

The round’s closest finish was at Church Langton where Old Village defeated Harborough E 5-4.

Old led 4-1 and looked to be heading for an easy win but Ron Palfrey, Mark Pearson and Phil Dixon tied the scores at 4-4.

Richard Bryant clinched victory in game nine, taking the deciding end 21-19 against the unlucky Palfrey.

Westfield E also secured victory over Baptist Team Jim 5-4 when Sidney Wright beat Ben Freeman 21-15, 21-17 in the deciding match. Evie Elliott took the honours when not dropping an end. Dave Marks played up for Baptists and won twice.

Burton Baptist C, leading 4-1 after five games, seemed to be heading for an easy win over Corby Lakeview but two points from Adam Bendyk and one from Ken Knott levelled the scores.

Derek Muggleton halted Lakeview’s charge with a 21-13, 21-17 victory over Rob Warrander to secure the deciding point for Baptist.

Corby Smash C’s trio of brothers Peter, Tyler and Lewis Hillery continued their early league form to comfortably overcome Harborough C 7-2 with Tyler and Lewis both unbeaten.

Mick Radford and Jamie Burgess both accounted for Peter for Harborough’s two points.

Helen Watts’ maximum proved decisive in a close encounter with Thrapston Falcons in Arrows’ 6-3 victory when all players won at least one rubber.

Corby Smash A fielded their strongest side for the first time this season and Colin Wilson, Tony West and Mike Ainsworth proved too strong for Corby Rothbury with Lee O’Boyle preventing the whitewash.

Lauren Ainsworth gave Buccaneers the perfect start when defeating Cathy Fleming 21-15, 21-18.

Club-mates Dakotas then took charge, winning the next eight games with Sally Taylor and Anthony Yeomans scoring maximums.

Alex Aston provided Burton Baptist A with a consolation win over Peter Briggs, whose double and trebles from Geoff Judd and Bob Hickson gave Thrapston Kites an easy win over the harshly-handicapped Baptist side.

Results: Westfield A 3 (Stefanov (SCR), Silk (SCR) 2) Corby Lyveden Fields 6 (Murie (+8) 3, Haynes (+5) 2, Arthur (+6)), Westfield D 5 (Brudenall (+14), Malpass (+10) 2, Alder (+12) 2) Westfield B 1 (Horrocks (+4)), Corby Rothbury 1 (O’Boyle (+2)) Corby Smash A 8 (Wilson (SCR) 3, West (SCR) 3, Ainsworth (+12) 2), Harborough A 4 (B Thompson (+8) 2, N Thompson (+8) 2) Higham 5 (Bashford (+5) 2, Harrison (+9) 2, Nannery (+7)), Thrapston Falcons 3 (Baldock (+3), Tyler (+8), Payne (+5)) Rothborough Arrows 6 (H Watts (SCR) 3, M Watts (+3) 2, Smith (+6)), Burton Baptist A 1 (Aston (SCR)) Thrapston Kites 8 (Briggs (+10) 2, Judd (+14) 3, Hickson (+13) 3), Burton Baptist E 4 (Chatburn (+1) 2, Waterfield (+8) 2) Corby Smash D 5 (Cochrane (+5) 2, Morgan (+7) 2, Clarke (2)), Corby Smash C 7 (P Hillery (+4), T Hillery (+10) 3, L Hillery (+12) 3) Harborough C 2 (Burgess (SCR), Radford (+12)), Westfield E 5 (Wright (+8) 2, Elliott (+10) 3) Burton Baptist Team Jim 4 (Marks (+14) 2, B Lade (+6), Freeman (+3)), Harborough E 4 (Pearson (SCR) 2, Palfrey (+8), Dixon (SCR)) Old Village 5 (Tyler (+5) 3, Bryant (+9) 2), Rothborough Buccaneers 1 (Ainsworth (+1)) Rothborough Dakotas 8 (Fleming (+9) 2, Taylor (+11) 3, Yeomans (+11) 3), Corby Lakeview 4 (Bendyk (+8) 3, Knott (+9)) Burton Baptist C 5 (Agg (+6) 2, Muggleton (+6) 2, Marshall (+7)).