Westfield to take on Royals in Trophy final

Ian Donaldson helped Thrapston end their Division One season on a high note
Ian Donaldson helped Thrapston end their Division One season on a high note

Westfield E will take on WDHA Royals in the final of the Wellingborough & District Table Tennis League’s Challenge Trophy, sponsored by Stanley L Hunt (Printers) Ltd.

Both teams eased through their semi-final clashes as Wanderers D conceded a 70-point handicap to Westfield and eventually went down by a massive 461-327 scoreline.

The opening game gave little indication of what was to follow as Roger Ellingham beat Mark Holly but, unbelievably, the next seven singles all showed a points deficit.

Game nine was shared by Graham Babbage against Holly and Piotr Polanski and Tim Mason won out over Ellingham and Babbage which meant that bottom division side Westfield won seven of the matches 3-1 and the other 4-0 to earn a massive victory and a place in the final.

Even with a heavy handicap against a side just six places below them in the final league standings, WDHA Royals still stormed to a 432-355 victory over Westfield C.

The game, as a contest, was virtually over after the first two sets had been played as Shivam Mistry saw off Charlie Morrow 11-4, 11-3, 11-5, 11-2 and Rishan Patel beat Lawrence Howlett 11-1, 11-9, 11-2, 11-3 to virtually halve the deficit.

The only person up for a fight, was Alfie Wright who gained the only three legs but eight of the games were 4-0 victories to the Royals who cruised into the final with a 77-point victory.

The final will be play at the Old Grammarians Memorial Ground in Wellingborough on Monday, May 11 (7pm) and will be part of the league’s presentation evening.

Results: Westfield E (rec 70) 461 (Mark Holly 106/106, Piotr Polanski 121/88, Tim Mason 127/101) Wanderers D (0) 327 (Roger Ellingham 104/113, Graham Babbage 98/117, Mike Howorth 93/124), WDHA Royals (0) 432 (Shivam Mistry 127/70, Rishan Patel 132/52, Mihir Mistry 129/68) Westfield C (rec 140) 355 (Charlie Morrow 54/132, Lawrence Howlett 51/132, Alfie Wright 85/124).

Thrapston rounded off an excellent Division One campaign with 7-3 victories over Wanderers A and St John A respectively.

Against Wanderers, Steve West scored his fourth treble in his last five outings while Ian Donaldson and Chris Warliker weighed in with braces, Donaldson losing out in the fifth to Andy Law and Warliker, also in the fifth, to Tony Wharton.

St John A could once again only field two players for their clash with Thrapston but Jon Perkins gained an excellent victory over Warliker and Pete Boustred comfortably saw off Donaldson.

West was never troubled but disappointed when, with Warliker, they went down in the doubles to Boustred and Perkins.

Wanderers A bounced back from the loss to Thrapston as they beat their own B side 7-3.

Gene Brown, in only his third outing, was well beaten by Paul Goodman and Richard Adams but took Bob Hickson to five.

Wharton had a titanic struggle, going to five in all his sets and winning out in the fifth 11-9 against Goodman and Adams and then 11-7 against Hickson.

Law found his treble much easier, although he dropped a leg to Hickson.

Results: Wanderers A 3 (Tony Wharton, Andy law, doubles Wharton/Law) Thrapston 7 (Steve West 3, Ian Donaldson 2, Chris Warliker 2), Thrapston 7 (Ian Donaldson, Steve West 2, Chris Warliker, + 3 by default) St Johns A 3 (Pete Boustred, Jon Perkins, doubles Boustred/Perkins), Wanderers A 7 (Andy Law 3, Tony Wharton 3, doubles Wharton/Law) Wanderers B 3 (Paul Goodman, Richard Adams, Bob Hickson).

There were mixed fortunes for Wanderers C and D as they completed their fixtures in Division Two.

The two sides clashed with each other and a James Findlay hat-trick for hosts C couldn’t stop the D team from claiming a 6-4 victory.

Two points each from Roger Ellingham and Mike Howorth plus a doubles victory for Ellingham and Graham Babbage in the fourth end were enough to clinch only their third win of the season.

That was as good as it got for the D team, however, as they then went down 9-1 to Higham Band A.

Keith Stockley and Nigel Magee recorded hat-tricks and there was a brace for Pete Martin who lost out to Ellingham.

Stockley and Magee took the doubles in three over Ellingham and Babbage.

Findlay, meanwhile hit another hat-trick as Wanderers C bounced back with a 6-4 win over their E team.

Tony Wallis added a break while, for the home side, David May also scored two points with single victories for Derek Shears and Steve Hoole.

The doubles point also went to the C team with Findlay and Carl Singh taking it 11-6 at the last hurdle over May and Hoole.

Westfield D made sure of the runners-up spot with a 6-4 win at St John B.

Another hat-trick for Carlton Ellwood along with two points from Mark Ramsden saw them home and their season finished with a doubles victory in three ends against Steve Mansfield and Paul Lipczak.

Results: Wanderers C 4 (Tony Wallis, James Findlay 3) Wanderers D 6 (Roger Ellingham 2, Graham Babbage, Mike Howorth 2, doubles Ellingham/Babbage), St John B 4 (Steve Mansfield, David Hatherall 2, Paul Lipczak) Westfield D 6 (Mark Ramsden 2, Carlton Ellwood 3, doubles Ramsden/Ellwood), Higham Band A 9 (Keith Stockley 3, Pete Martin 2, Nigel Magee 3, doubles Stockley/Magee) Wanderers D 1 (Roger Ellingham), Wanderers E 4 (Derek Shears, David May 2, Steve Hoole) Wanderers C 6 (Tony Wallis 2, James Findlay 3, doubles Carl Singh/James Findlay).

Westfield F completed their Division Three season with a big 8-2 win at WDHA Knightriders.

The hosts were unlucky as six out of the 10 sets played went the full distance and only two sets were over in three ends with Amrat Mistry having a hand in both against Baron Boateng and Manav Pandya.

Boateng gained the Knightriders’ two points with fifth-end wins over Stuart Holroyd and Linda Freeman respectively.

The division’s final game of the season saw Higham Harriers C and WDHA Challengers share a 5-5 draw.

Virat Patel and Manav Pandya took the doubles point to seal the draw for Challengers as they beat Craig Hartwell and Richard Cooper.

Both Harriers players won twice with Phill Inman gaining a single but all found Patel too hard to crack.

Results: WDHA Knightriders 2 (Baron Boateng 2) Westfield F 8 (Stuart Holroyd 2, Linda Freeman 2, Amrat Mistry 3, doubles Holroyd/Mistry), Higham Harriers C 5 (Phill Inman, Craig Hartwell 2, Richard Cooper 2) WDHA Challengers 5 (Virat Patel 3, Daniel Bain, doubles Patel/Pandya).

The Seoni Merit Awards, sponsored by Seoni Clothing, is a competition open to those who have played at least 75 per cent of their team’s matches.

Mike Pond, of Chesterwell A, retained the title he won last season with team-mates Valdi Papiernik nd spot and Stan Galkowski in second and seventh respectively.

Divisions Two and Three are a little unusual as they do not have any player from respective runaway leaders WDHA Royals or WDHA Superkings in their top 10 as these teams play on a squad system and have therefore not played sufficient games to qualify.

Stephen Woolston, from Works Warriors, topped the Division Two standings followed by Carlton Ellwood of Westfield D.

Pole position in Division Three was Stanwick’s Geoff Neville with Virat Patel of WDHA Challengers in second.