Table Tennis - Chesterwell claim first win of the season

Chris Warliker helped Thrapston claim a 9-1 win in Division One
Chris Warliker helped Thrapston claim a 9-1 win in Division One
Share this article

Chesterwell D claimed their first win of the season in Division Three of the Wellingborough & District Table Tennis League with a 6-4 success over Westfield D.

Westfield, who were awarded the L&M Waters Trophy Specialists team of the month away for November, sit in second place but they were undone as Bryan Farrar finished unbeaten for the third time and was only stretched by Glenn Morris who bailed out in the fourth end.

Henryk Schmied won twice after just losing out to Joel Storr in the fourth and this same pairing for Westfield went on to take the doubles in three, their other points came at the expense of Chloe Coles.

Higham Harriers B claimed a good 7-3 win over Westfield F although Roger Barlow failed to register with Bob Collyer and Martyn Reeves claiming all the points.

For Westfield, Linda Freeman, Sidney Wright and Amrat Mistry had to be satisfied with a single point apiece. Freeman pushed Reeves to the only decider in this match but lost out 11-9 in the fifth.

Stanwick couldn’t chink leaders Higham Harriers A’s armour as only Graham Bird lost an end in the singles.

Bird and Norman Wooster kept their 100 per cent record in the doubles, winning out in four, and Neil Stevens won his second hat-trick in the 10-0 success.

Results: Chesterwell D 6 (Bryan Farrar 3, Henryk Schmied 2, doubles Farrar/Schmied) Westfield G 4 (Joel Storr 2, Mark Holly, Glenn Morris), Higham Harriers B 7 (Bob Collyer 3, Martyn Reeves 3, doubles Collyer/Reeves) Westfield F 3 (Linda Freeman, Sidney Wright, Amrat Mistry), Stanwick 0 Higham Harriers A 10 (Norman Wooster 3, Neil Stevens 3, Graham Bird 3, doubles Wooster/Bird).

Wanderers A’s Andy Law put last week’s drubbing behind him and gained an excellent treble in Division One with comfortable wins over Chesterwell A’s Valdi Papiernik and Graham Ellson before edging out Stan Galkowski 11-7 in the fifth.

But his team-mates found the going much harder. Stewart Williams was well off pace and Tony Wharton went down 11-7 to Papiernik in the fifth but against Ellson, stormed home for their other point.

The current champions clinched the match 6-4 with a five-set doubles win for Galkowski and Ellson over Law and Wharton.

Wanderers B ensured a good gap from the bottom two with a useful 6-4 win over St John A, again lacking Grant Timms.

Richard Wills stepped in for his first game of the season, comfortably seeing off Paul Goodman and Bob Hickson but was edged out 13-11, 8-11, 6-11, 11-7, 6-11 by Richard Adams.

Adams also saw off Pete Boustred 11-7 in the fifth and completed a splendid treble with an easy 11-5, 11-4, 11-7 win over a struggling Jon Perkins, who had his fifth blank in seven outings.

Wanderers won the game with a surprisingly easy doubles win, Goodman and Adams winning out 11-4, 11-6, 11-6 over Boustred and Wills.

Higham Band B’s Alan Woolston opened his season’s account with a shock 11-8, 11-3, 5-11, 11-9 win over Pete Briggs but then crashed to heavy defeats to Chris Warliker and Mark Stockley as Thrapston went on to complete a 9-1 away win.

A normally competitive Stephen Woolston was well beaten and, with Roger Fleming incurring his 18th consecutive loss, Thrapston cruised home.

Results: Wanderers A 4 (Tony Wharton, Andy Law 3) Chesterwell A 6 (Valdi Papiernik 2, Graham Ellson, Stan Galkowski 2, doubles Papiernik/Galkowski), St John A 4 (Pete Boustred 2, Richard Wills 2) Wanderers B 6 (Paul Goodman, Richard Adams 3, Bob Hickson, doubles Goodman/Adams), Higham Band B 1 (Alan Woolston) Thrapston 9 (Peter Briggs 2, Chris Warliker 3, Mark Stockley 3, doubles Warliker/Stockley).

In-form Chesterwell B brushed aside Division Two bottom markers Wanderers D 10-0 with just one game requiring a fifth end when Roger Ellingham took Carl Singh the full distance.

The clean sweep was assured by Craig Dilley, Luke Hughes and Singh as Chesterwell moved to the top of the division by four clear points.

Wanderers C are still the only unbeaten team in this division as they raced past leaders Higham Band C by a 6-4 scoreline.

A Jon Taylor-Burt hat trick, his fourth, helped the cause with James Findlay scoring a brace and a single from Tony Wallis. Each player for the visitors scored a single point with Alan Wooten and Keith Stockley taking the doubles in five ends over Taylor-Burt and Wallis.

Milan Modha stepped up for Westfield C and scored all their points but it wasn’t enough to prevent a 7-3 victory for Westfield E.

Patryk Polanski, Will Shepherd and Charlie Morrow all won twice with Morrow and Polanski taking the doubles over Modha and Dave Long in four ends 11-3, 11-3, 6-11, 11-8.

A Maxine Shears treble for Chesterwell C was not enough to stop Westfield D from claiming a 6-4 success.

Owen Morris and Cameron Elliott played up and won twice. Jamie Coombes registered a single and, along with Morris, won the doubles in four against Shears and Stuart Coles, the latter claimed the fourth point for the visitors.

Results: Chesterwell B10 (Craig Dilley 3, Luke Hughes 3, Carl Singh 3, doubles Dilley/Hughes) Wanderers D 0, Wanderers C 6 (Jon Taylor-Burt 3, Tony Wallis, James Findlay 2) Higham Band C 4 (Alan Wooten, Nigel Magee, Keith Stockley, doubles Wooten/Stockley), Westfield E 7 (Patryk Polanski 2, Will Shepherd 2, Charlie Morrow 2, doubles Polanski/Morrow) Westfield C 3 (Milan Modha 3), Westfield D 6 (Jamie Coombes, Cameron Elliott 2, Owen Morris 2, doubles Coombes/Morris) Chesterwell C 4 (Shears 3, Coles).

The draw for the second round of the Stanley L Hunt (Printers) Ltd Challenge Trophy has been made.

The matches will take place in the week commencing December 17.

Full draw: Chesterwell A (0) v Chesterwell B (140), Higham Band B (0) v Westfield E (80), Wanderers C (0) v Westfield D (25), Westfield G (290) v St John A (0), Wanderers B (0) v Higham Band C (50), Higham Band D (125) v Higham Harriers A (0), Chesterwell D (355) v Westfield A (0), St John B (125) v Wanderers A.