Final placings confirmed for merit awards

Alex Aston
Alex Aston

The final placings for those who qualified for the Wellingborough & District Table Tennis League’s Seoni Merit Awards, having played at least 75 per cent of their respective teams games, has no player in its ranks maintaining their 100 per cent record.

League champions, Westfield A’s Alex Aston took the Division One award having been in second place last season.

Astons’ team-mates who did not qualify for the awards saw Kevin Bird still unbeaten with Daniel Smalley, last seasons winner, and Nicole Bird having lost only one game, with Steve Hobbs losing two.

Division One runners-up Chesterwell A have all three of their team in the top five with Stan Galgowski, Mike Pond and Valdi Papiernik being separated by Thrapston’s Mark Stockley, who took third place for the second year running with his team-mate Chris Warliker and Wanderers A’s Tony Wharton in the charts again this year.

The Division Two title once again went to Jon Taylor-Burt of Wanderers C and was secured with a higher average than last season.

One of Westfield C’s Division Two title-winning side Richie Bailey took second place with Travis Holly coming in sixth.

Two players missing from this winning side who did not qualify were Ethan Ali, still on 100 per cent, and Cameron Elliott on 79.4 per cent – a force to be reckoned with in their promotion next season.

Higham Harriers A had Norman Wooster and Graham Bird in third and fourth respectively and the only female to make the charts was Maxine Shears, who played in every one of her teams fixtures for Chesterwell C.

The Division Three Seoni Merit award went to a player new to the league from the Hindu Community Centre – Mihir Mistry of WDHA Royals, who took the division by storm while his team-mate Shivam Mistry who, despite being on the on the same average, lost out to Mihir in the division’s Top Eight tournament.

Third place went to Bob Collyer of Higham Harriers B, who finished as runners-up with team-mate Martyn Reeves coming in sixth.

WDHA Royals’ Shyam Bavalia and Kishan Patel had not played sufficient games to qualify for the award but finished with averages of 87.2 per cent and 78.8 per cent respectively. David May, for Wanderers E, and Joel Storr, for Westfield F, took the remaining placings in the table.

Following the annual meeting of the Wellingborough & District Table Tennis League last year, it was decided to hold a tournament for those who played at least 50 per cent of their team’s fixtures in each division and finished in the Top 8 to find the best player overall.

The event, sponsored by Seoni Clothing, was held at the Hindu Community Centre in Highfield Road, Wellingborough with players being invited to attend by their respective divisonal secretaries.

It was a great success with some outstanding table tennis played, especially from the younger members.

The event was run by divisional secretaries Chas Allen, Alan Hill and Nigel Magee, with chairman, Ken Marchant overseeing the proceedings.

There were some interesting results throughout the group stages, with an excellent standard of competition between the players.


Division One winner: Alex Aston (Westfield A). Runner-up: Mike Pond (Chesterwell A).

Division Two winner: Richie Bailey (Westfield C). Runner-up: Ethan Ali (Westfield C).

Division Three winner: Mihir Mistry (WDHA Royals). Runner-up: Shivam Mistry (WDHA Royals).

These players will each receive a medal at the presentation evening to be held at the Old Grammarians Memorial Ground on Monday, May 12 (7pm).