Bronze medals for duo in a national time trial

COUNTY juniors Kristian Woolf and Alice Barnes claimed bronze medals at the national 10-mile time trial championships.

Woolf, from Kings Cliffe, improved from 21st last year to take third place in the junior men’s race – covering a windswept Sawtry course in 22 min 14 sec.

Towcester’s Barnes – a first-year junior – clocked 25.27 for third in the women’s event which was won last year by her sister Hannah.

Now riding for Prestige VC, 17-year-old Woolf tried out the course a few days earlier in Kings Cliffe Flyers’ club event but wasn’t feeling at his best on the morning of the championship.

“I felt really bad early on but it got better after warming up and I was hoping I could pull it out,” he said.

“It was hard going out into a headwind but the pace went up on the return leg and overall it went pretty well.”

Ryan Mullen (Planet X RT), 21.25, successfully defended his 2011 title ahead of fellow Welsh rider Scott Davies (M&D Kinetica RT), 21.55, while Woolf was just a second clear of fourth-placed Tom Ward (Team Echelon Rotor). Kettering CC’s Joel Lewis finished 19th in 24.03.

Woolf came into the sport three years ago through British Cycling’s Go-Ride project.

“I went along to one in the local sports field and found that I really enjoyed it,” he said.

“Mark McVitty, who ran it, still coaches me and I feel I’m making the right sort of progress.

“I’m hoping to do a good ride at the British time trial championships later in the year and want to try to get a medal in the pursuit at the national junior championships on the track.”

Barnes (Twenty3c Orbea), who had represented Great Britain at a mountain bike World Cup the previous weekend, finished behind last year’s junior world championship silver medalist Elinor Barker (Scott Contessa Epic RT), 24.24, and Abby-Mae Parkinson (RST-Trigon RT), 25.04, with Kings Cliffe’s Keira McVitty ( fourth in 26.41.

Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit RT) won his ninth senior men’s title in 19.40, beating Matt Bottrill ( by 19 seconds with former Welland Valley CC Whizz Kid George Atkins (100%ME) fifth in 20.35.

Justin Garon (22.33) was fastest of a 45 Road Club trio ahead of George Fox (22.42) and Tom Kruger (23.18) while Dave Lazenby (Baines Racing) also finished in 22.42 and Murray Kirton (A5 Rangers CC) 27.24.

Chantelle Rothe (45 RC) clocked 27.09 in the women’s championship which was won for a sixth time by Julia Shaw ( in 22.27.