Walker, Taylor and Byrne scoop top Steelmen awards

Shane Byrne was named the players' player of the year by his Corby Town team-mates
Shane Byrne was named the players' player of the year by his Corby Town team-mates

Paul Walker was named the supporters’ player of the year as Corby Town’s title-winning campaign was celebrated at a presentation evening.

The event, which was attended by the Evo-Stik League Southern League Premier Division championship-winning first-team squad and the club’s under-18 team, who won the Northants Senior Youth League Knockout Cup last week, was held at the The Steelmen Bar at Steel Park.

Longest-serving player Walker recorded 14 clean sheets during the campaign and scooped the award, which was voted for by Steelmen fans.

Tommy Wright’s manager’s player of the year award went to captain Cleveland Taylor while midfielder Shane Byrne was named players’ player of the year by his team-mates.

Spencer Weir-Daley, who scored twice in the dramatic 3-2 win at Poole Town to clinch the title on the final day, collected the golden boot award.

Under-18s boss Graham Leech’s manager’s young player of the year prize went to Danny Draper with Jordon Crawford claiming the young players’ player of the season.

Long-serving club secretary Gerry Lucas was named as an Honorary Life President for his loyal service and dedication to the Steelmen over the years while Pete Currall, John Wilson and Gerry McDade were confirmed as Honorary Vice Presidents.

The clubman of the year award, sponsored by Alpha Tanker Services, was presented to Billy McKay snr by his son Billy McKay, who now plays for Wigan Athletic to recognise his hard work as a volunteer throughout the campaign.