Poppies make first moves as 15 sign up for new season

Rene Howe has signed registration forms for the new season with Kettering Town
Rene Howe has signed registration forms for the new season with Kettering Town

Kettering Town’s squad for the new Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division campaign is beginning to take shape.

Ahead of their first pre-season friendly of the summer at Rothwell Corinthians tomorrow (Tuesday) night, the Poppies have confirmed that 15 players have now signed forms with the club for the forthcoming campaign.

While the likes of James Brighton, Liam Canavan and Ben Bradshaw were already under contract, nine more of last season’s squad have now committed to the Poppies.

Leading the list is striker Rene Howe, who made a shock return to Kettering during the second half of last season and played a key role as they just missed out on a play-off place.

Club legend Brett Solkhon is also staying at Latimer Park while Ben Baker, Liam Bateman, Dom Langdon, Gary Mulligan, Ben Stephens, Paul Walker and Spencer Weir-Daley have also put pen to paper.

Three members of the club’s under-21 team have also been rewarded with the step up with Nathan Bobowicz, Jonny Joyce and Bleu McNeil taking the Poppies’ squad number up to 15.

The Poppies have also officially confirmed that midfielder Nathan Hicks will feature in the pre-season friendlies, as previously reported by the Northamptonshire Telegraph last week.

Will Grocott (Stratford Town) and Herve Pepe-N’Goma (Boston United) made moves away from Kettering earlier in the summer while young striker Silvano Obeng has moved away from the area to go to university.

The club also revealed that other members of last season’s squad are still on holiday.