Cobblers young guns beaten by Daventry

IN ACTION - Connor Roberts was the only member of the Cobblers first-team squad involved at Daventry
IN ACTION - Connor Roberts was the only member of the Cobblers first-team squad involved at Daventry

A youthful Cobblers XI suffered a 4-0 defeat at Daventry Town on Tuesday night.

The game was set up as the final match of Northampton’s pre-season campaign, but defender Connor Roberts was the only member of the first-team squad involved.

And it was a harsh lesson for the fledgling Cobblers side as Southern League Division One Central outfit Daventry warmed up for the start of their season in style.

Two goals in each half secured the win, with Dior Angus, Jamie Calvin, Joe Power and Josh O’Grady the men on the mark at Communications Park.

Angus got the ball rolling for the home side inside a quarter of an hour, striking a half-volley into the net at the far post.

Dodzi Agbenu threatened to respond immediately and continued to cause problems, but it was Daventry who were to score again before the break.

Calvin was clinical as he hammered home a close-range volley with three minutes of the first half remaining.

Cobblers emerged with plenty of desire in the second half, with Agbenu again looking lively.

The striker saw his shot tipped over the bar by Richard Morris before the keeper got down to stop the Cobblers man rounding him.

Visiting stopper Charlie Andrews was then called into action on several occasions as Daventry upped the tempo.

And Darran Foster’s side had their third goal on 66 minutes as Power struck with a low drive at the far post.

O’Grady put the icing on the cake for Daventry with a good finish after going through one on one and though Cobblers pressed, there was to be no last-gasp consolation.

Daventry Town: Richard Morris, Ash Deeney, Josh Blake, Nathan Haines, Martyn Hutchcox, Barry Deacon, Dior Angus, Ryan Howell, Jamie Calvin, Tommy Berwick, Josh O’Grady

Substitutes: Jack Walden, Mitch Piggon, Kieran Fitzgerald, Ross Briscoe, Joe Power, Cerga Iustin

Cobblers: Charlie Andrews, Connor Roberts, Sam Warburton, Shaun McWilliams, Richard Parker, Ben Jackson, Ryan Cooke, Danny Clifton, Robbie Parsons, Dodzi Agbenu, Tom Carroll

Substitutes: Callum Westwood, Harvey Burt, Ryan Marsden, Alex Mushata, Shaquelle Master