Foden returns as Saints make six changes for Harlequins trip

Kieran Brookes starts for Saints against Harlequins after being released by England earlier this week.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 5th February 2016, 12:22 pm
Updated Wednesday, 17th February 2016, 5:49 am
GLAD TO BE BACK - Ben Foden starts for Saints at Harlequins on Saturday
GLAD TO BE BACK - Ben Foden starts for Saints at Harlequins on Saturday

The prop will take his place in an unchanged front row from last Friday’s 24-11 defeat to Wasps at Franklin’s Gardens.

But there are alterations in other areas of the team, with boss Jim Mallinder opting to shake things up.

Ben Foden returns at full-back after being rested for last week’s game, while Lee Dickson is back to skipper the side, replacing Tom Kessell at scrum-half.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Ken Pisi is in for Tom Collins on the wing, with the Samoan starting for the first time since Boxing Day.

George Pisi is not in the squad, meaning Luther Burrell lines up at outside centre, with Harry Mallinder, who played at 15 against Wasps, switching to 12.

Jamie Gibson returns from the concussion he sustained in the win at Scarlets last month, with Teimana Harrison dropping to the bench.

The other changes see James Craig and Christian Day replace Michael Paterson and Victor Matfield in the second row.

Meanwhile, Harlequins have made four changes to the team that was beaten 26-19 at Newcastle last Sunday.

Matt Hopper starts at outside centre in the only change to the backline.

Among the forwards, Kyle Sinckler and George Merrick will start as Nick Easter returns at No.8.

Among the replacements, Calum Waters will look to make his Quins senior debut.

Harlequins: Chisholm; Yarde, Hopper, Sloan, Walker; Evans (c), Tebaldi; Lambert, Buchanan, Sinckler; Merrick, Horwill; Luamanu, Wallace, Easter.

Replacements: Gray, Evans, Collier, Matthews, Ward, Waters, Botica, Swiel.

Saints: Foden; K Pisi, Burrell, Mallinder, Elliott; Myler, Dickson (c); A Waller, Haywood, Brookes; Craig, Day; Gibson, Wood, Dickinson.

Replacements: Marshall, E Waller, Denman, Matfield, Harrison, Hanrahan, Kessell, Wilson.