Trips to Manchester and Worcester await County

County Ground
County Ground

The line-up for the second division of the County Championship for 2013 has been confirmed.

Kent’s defeat in three days to Glamorgan in Cardiff means that Derbyshire and Yorkshire will occupy the two promotion places with the destination of the title to be decided today (Friday),which is the final day of the first-class season.

It will be the first time Derbyshire have competed in the top flight since 2000 which was the first year of two-divisional cricket and Yorkshire’s return comes after a one-year absence.

Joining Northamptonshire in the second tier will be Lancashire and Worcestershire whose respective relegations from Division One were confirmed last week.

Lancashire last played in Division Two in 2005 and Worcestershire in 2010.

So joining the County in the division will be Leicestershire, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Lancashire, Worcestershire, Kent, Hampshire and Essex.