Peterborough are champions again

Peterborough are Northamptonshire Cricket League champions for the third season.

They were confirmed as Premier Division title winners after their nearest rivals Rushton lost their penultimate game of the season but Peterborough’s win over Horton House would ensure them the title anyway.

Rushton’s loss was a heavy one as they went down by 203 runs at home to Rushden.

A magnificent 152 not out from former Northamptonshire man Christian Davis set Rushden on their way to 272-7 declared.

His knock took only 117 balls and contained 12 fours and nine sixes and it allowed his side to end their innings two overs early.

Not that they needed extra time. Rushton were skittled in only 21.1 overs with only David Murphy (34) and Marc Jackson (11) breaking into double figures.

After Simon Childs (7-3-21-3) had done early damage it was left to skipper Simon Branston to run through the rest for his 10.1-5-26-7.

Peterborough, for their part, also did their bit at Horton and completed their 50th Premier Division win in the last three seasons.

They were victors by 115 runs at Denton Road as Joe Dawborn (4-73) and Paul McMahon (3-43) dismissed Horton for 190 in pursuit of an imposing 305-7.

Asim Butt showed his complete class once again with the bat scoring 113 while Callum French chipped in with 80 as Peterborough emphasised their dominance of the competition.

At the other end Burton Latimer kept their hopes of survival alive by collecting just their second win of the season.

They beat Wollaston by 15 runs with captain Damon Hanney leading the way.

He took 5-65 in his 14 overs as Wollaston were dismissed for 176.

That was shy of Burton’s 191 all out in which Bryan Ogilvie top scored on 48.

It means they are now 16 points behind Stony Stratford - who clung on nine down to draw with Northampton Saints - heading into the final weekend of the season.

Oundle consolidated fourth place with a 17-run success over Brixworth.

They scored 214-9 with Petrus Jeftha’s 51 their leading contribution.

Fred Newborough (48) and Will Thomas (76) had the chase in good order for Brixworth but when they went there was a collapse that saw the final wicket fall on the final ball of the match with the last five men all out bowled.

Finedon Dolben just got the better of Old Northamptonians in a low-scoring game at Billing Road.

ONs were made 159-9 in their allotted over - Chris Goode taking 4-30 - before Finedon edged home with seven down.

Sean Davis (57) led the way but it needed contributions all the way down to see them home at 161-7 in the 46th over.