Northants start 2016 season with home clash against Sussex

Northants will begin their 2016 season with a home LV= Championship Division Two clash against Sussex at the County Ground on Sunday, April 10.

Wednesday, 2nd December 2015, 3:04 pm
David Willey's Yorkshire are T20 visitors to the County Ground on July 29

In a busy start to the campaign, the County will play seven of their 16 Championship games before the end of May.

Following the Sussex match, they travel to Essex, host Derbyshire, go to Leicestershire, entertain Kent, make the trip to Gloucestershire and also welcome Essex.

After the Essex Championship game (May 28), Northants won’t play another four-day game until June 22 as white-ball cricket takes centre stage.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Steelbacks actually begin their T20 campaign with a Friday night trip to Grace Road to take on Leicestershire Foxes on May 20, before hosting Derbyshire the following Friday (May 27).

In June, the action is split between T20 and Royal London One Day Cup action, with home T20 games against Worcestershire, Durham and Leicestershire, and home RLODC clashes with Lancashire and Leicestershire.

Early July sees the action split between T20 and the County Championship, before the RLODC becomes the focus in the final week of the month.

David Willey can look forward to a possible return to his home town as Yorkshire are the visitors in a T20 game on Friday, July 29.

The T20 Finals Day is scheduled for August 20 and will again be at Edgbaston, while the Royal London One Day Cup will be at Lord’s on September 17, the final day of the season.

September sees the County wrap up their Championship season with a trip to Canterbury to take on Kent, while Gloucestershire are the final visitors to the County Ground for a four-day game starting on September 12.

Full fixtures below.


Tuesday 5: Friendly: Oxford MCCU

Sunday 10: CC: Sussex (H)

Sunday 24: CC: Essex (A)


Sunday 1: CC: Derbyshire (H)

Sunday 8: CC: Leicestershire (A)

Sunday 15: CC: Kent (H)

Friday 20: T20: Leicestershire (A)

Sunday 22: CC: Gloucestershire (A)

Friday 27: T20: Derbyshire (H)

Saturday 28: CC: Essex (H) CC


Friday 3: T20: Worcestershire (H)

Monday 6: RLODC: Nottinghamshire (A)

Wednesday 8: RLODC: Lancashire (H)

Friday 10: T20: Worcestershire (A)

Sunday 12: RLODC: Leicestershire (H)

Tuesday 14: RLODC: Yorkshire (A)

Thursday 16: T20: Lancashire (A)

Friday 17: T20: Durham (H)

Wednesday 22: CC: Sussex (A)

Sunday 26: T20: Leicestershire (H)


Friday 1: T20: Birmingham Bears (A)

Sunday 3: T20: Derbyshire (A)

Monday 4: CC: Derbyshire (A)

Friday 8: T20: Nottinghamshire (H)

Sunday 10: CC: Worcestershire (H)

Friday 15: T20: Durham (A)

Tuesday 19: T20: Birmingham Bears (H)

Friday 22: T20: Yorkshire (A)

Sunday 24: RLODC: Durham (H)

Tuesday 26: RLODC: Warwickshire (A)

Wednesday 27: RLODC: Worcestershire (A)

Friday 29: T20: Yorkshire (H)

Sunday 31: RLODC: Derbyshire (h)


Wednesday 3: CC: Glamorgan (A)

8-11: T20 quarter-finals

Saturday 13: CC: Leicestershire (H)

17-18: RLODC semi-finals

Saturday 20: T20 finals day (Edgbaston)

Tuesday 23: CC: Worcestershire (A)

28-29: RLODC semi-finals

Wednesday 31: CC: Glamorgan (h)


Tuesday 6: CC: Kent (A)

Monday 12: CC: Gloucestershire (H)

Saturday 17: RLODC finals day (Lord’s)