Voters choosing new Northamptonshire County Councillors in by-elections

editorial image

A pair of Northamptonshire County Council by-elections take place today (Thursday, July 3) following the resignations of two Conservative councillors.

The by-elections are being held in the divisions of Brixworth – after cabinet member Catherine Boardman stood down – and Braunston & Crick, where Steve Slatter has stepped down.

Prior to the resignations, the Conservatives had a majority of 15 at County Hall.

There is also a by-election today for a new Northampton Borough councillor in St James, Northampton, following the death of former county council chairman Terry Wire.

Polling stations for all three elections are open between 7am and 10pm.

List of candidates, Brixworth:

Cecile Irving-Swift, Conservative

Daniel Jones, Liberal Democrat

Robert McNally, Labour

Stephen Pointer, UKIP

Stephen Whiffen, Green Party

List of candidates, Braunston & Crick:

Abigail Campbell, Labour

Malcolm Longley, Conservative

Eric Macanndrais, UKIP