Two buses have been repainted in historic liveries by Stagecoach to mark 100 years of buses operating in Northamptonshire.
The first bus company to be established in the area was the Wellingborough & District Motor Omnibus Company in 1913, which in 1921, in effect, became the United Counties Omnibus Company.
A modern double decker has been repainted in the green livery of United Counties, which operated from 1921 to 1987, when it was acquired by Stagecoach. This particular livery was in use from the 1960s to 1980s and will bring back memories to many people. The intention is that it will generally operate on the X46 and X47 routes between Northampton, Wellingborough, Rushden, Raunds and Thrapston until at least the end of this year.
The second of the repainted buses is a Bristol FLF double decker built in 1966 and because of its age and the need for a conductor, as well as a driver with experience of a manual ‘crash’ gearbox, it will not be in regular service. Instead it will be used for special events in the County and beyond. It has been painted in its original red and cream livery of the former Eastern Counties Omnibus Company, which Stagecoach took over a part of (then trading as ‘Cambus’) in 1993.
The two buses were first seen in their new liveries at the recent ‘Wellingborough 100’ event in and around Wellingborough Museum. You can now keep an eye open for them on our roads.