Slideshow: Northamptonshire sports stars honoured at awards

Golf star Charley Hull has been named sports personality of the year at the 2013 Northamnptonshire Sports Awards.

The teenage golfing sensation from Burton Latimer scooped the top award at last night’s award ceremony watched by hundreds of guests and fellow sportsmen and women.

Northamptonshire Sports Awards 2013 Sports Personality of the Year  winner Charley Hull

Northamptonshire Sports Awards 2013 Sports Personality of the Year winner Charley Hull

Charley, 17, was recognized for an amazing 2013 - during which time she became a professional golfer and was selected toplay in the Solheim Cup where she won her singles match against of one of America’s top players.

Among the other winners announced at the awards at Kettering Conference Centre were Northants Steelbacks who won the Team of the Year award and Steelbacks coach David Ripley who won Coach of the Year.

David guided the team to its first major trophy in 21 years, the T20 national competition, and to promotion to Division one of the LV County Championship.

Chris Holmes Director of Northamptonshire Sport opened the evening and said: “Looking back on a fabulous year of sport, the Sports Awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the fantastic achievements of our most talented sportsmen and women, young and old, as well as the invaluable contributions of the volunteers who are helping to create the Olympic Legacy in Northamptonshire”.

Now in their ninth year the Northamptonshire Sports Awards are a culmination of district level awards and county wide nominations. The Young Sport Man and Young Sports Woman go forward to the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year at a national level.

The winners and runners-up are:

Community Sports Club of the Year

Winners: Moulton Magpies Football Club


Brackley & District Angling Club

Kettering Hockey Club

Corby Archers

Team Of The Year

Winners: Northants Steelbacks - Northamptonshire CCC


Wrenn School Volleyball Team

Wellingborough Colts Rugby team

Moulton College Rugby 10s team

Corby ITC U14 boys

Coach Of The Year

Winner: David Ripley (Northants County Cricket Club)


Rob Sharp

Amanda Marlow

Alex Barrowman Snr

Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Steve Mackie, from Great Harrowden (Rugby)


John Chester

Stephen Poole

Jan Randle

Sport School Of The Year

Winner: Friars School and Sports College, Wellingborough


Lings Primary School

Manor School Sports College

Wrenn School

Guilsborough School Academy Trust

Get Active Award

Winner: David Weighill from Northampton


Julia Smith

Alison Butterworth

Steve Parker

Young Leader Of The Year

Winner: Paige Dillon from Campion School, Bugbrooke


Jack Patmore

Jade Sacre

Beth Tucker

Tayler Kerly

Young Sportswoman of the Year

Winner: Sarah Branch, of Silverston (Swimming)


Tea McCaughey

Rachael Lever

Lauren Mounteney

Young Sportsman of the Year

Winner: Alex Ramsden, of Great Houghton (Table Tennis)


Sam Meyler

Robert Taylor

Joe Tyler

Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year

Winner: Jo Redman, of Rushden (Kick Boxing)


Niall Graham

Maisie Summers-Newton

Gabi Down

Local Sportswoman of the Year

Winner: Charley Hull, of Burton Latimer (Golf)


Nichola Smith

Stacey Dransfield

Sheeba Young

Hannah Barnes

Local Sportsman of the Year

Winner: Ryan Evans, of Gretton (Golf)


Ashley McClintock

Chris Doran

Michael Smallwood

Sports Personality of the Year

Winner: Charley Hull, of Burton Latimer (Golf)

Runners up:

Kelvin Langmead

Samu Manoa

Simon Barclay

James Middlebrook

Niall Graham

Lifetime Contribution To Sport

Winner: Kevin & Marion Flynn, of Northampton (Gymnastics)

Runners up:

Joseph Feely

Clive Hogben

Gary Webb

Marion Neale