The north Northamptonshire neighbourhoods whose MP could now be miles away instead of on their doorstep

Two of our constituencies could change name under the proposal

Wednesday, 16th June 2021, 9:08 am

Some residents in north Northamptonshire could be represented by an MP based miles from their home in a shake-up proposed by the Boundary Commission.

The re-drawing of the boundaries reflect changes in population figures as the review attempts to make constituencies more equal in terms of the number of voters they have.

Under the plan one Wellingborough estate would become part of the Daventry area - forming part of the same constituency as the parish of Edgcote which is just a few miles from Banbury.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The proposed constituencies outlined in red
The proposed constituencies outlined in red

And other villages near Wellingborough would become part of South Northamptonshire which extends beyond Brackley to the south of the county.

Two of Northamptonshire's parliamentary constituencies could get a new name under proposals to change England's electoral map in 2023.

In the Boundary Commission for England's initial plan, Wellingborough would be expanded to the northeast to include Raunds and be renamed to 'Wellingborough and Raunds'.

Corby would also be renamed officially to 'Corby and East Northamptonshire' although current MP Tom Pursglove already refers to the constituency by that name.

Corby and East Northamptonshire could lose Raunds, Hargrave and Stanwick

Boundary Commission Secretary Tim Bowden said: “Today’s proposals mark the first time people get to see what the new map of parliamentary constituencies might look like.

"But they are just the commission’s initial thoughts. Help us draw the line to make the number of electors in each Parliamentary constituency more equal."

Despite being part of the North Northamptonshire Council area, Isham, Orlingbury, Great Harrowden, Little Harrowden, Hardwick, Wilby and Great Doddington would all join Daventry constituency.

The most easterly settlement of the new Daventry area would be the Redhill Grange estate, a stone's throw from the new Wellingborough constituency, joined by part of the new Glenvale Park - sliced in two by the new boundary.

Wilby and Great Doddington could join the constituency of South Northamptonshire

Residents wanting to visit their MP would face a cross-country trek of 45 minutes for the 33-mile journey rather than the current seven-minute, two-mile drive to Peter Bone's town centre office.

In another significant change Wollaston, Grendon, Bozeat, Easton Maudit and Strixton - all part of the North Northants Council area - could potentially become part of South Northamptonshire's electorate.

Constituents eager to meet their MP at the South Northamptonshire MP's office - current incumbent Dame Andrea Leadsom - would face an approximate 40-minute drive negotiating the A45 and A43 to Towcester.

Corby and East Northamptonshire would lose Raunds, Hargrave and Stanwick - they would join Wellingborough and Raunds. Urban Corby has a majority of Labour voters with the surrounding villages traditionally Conservative and with a swathe of the votes being reduced it is possible the political balance could swing.

The two halves of Stanton Cross in Wellingborough could be represented by two different MPs

Kettering would gain Finedon and half of the newly expanding Stanton Cross estate, to the north of Driver Way, close to Wellingborough Station.

The review was formally launched in January as the commission tries to ensure the number of electors in each constituency is as equal as possible, with the number of constituencies in England potentially going from 533 to 543.

Mr Bowden added: "Each constituency we recommend is required by law to contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors, meaning there will be significant change to current boundaries.

"We want to hear the views of the public to ensure that we get the new boundaries for parliamentary constituencies right.”

People can comment on anything from where the proposed new boundary lines are to the names of the constituencies. There will be a further two rounds of consultation in 2022.

Click here to visit to view maps showing the proposed new boundaries and to provide feedback before the consultation closes on August 2.

Redhill Grange and the majority of Glenvale Park could be looking to a Daventry MP despite being classed as Wellingborough.

Following the conclusion of all three consultation periods, the Commission will look at all the evidence received and form its final recommendations to be presented to Parliament by July, 2023.