Former councillors become Honorary Aldermen for their service to East Northants

Four former councillors have been recognised for their service to East Northamptonshire and become Honorary Aldermen of the district at a special ceremony.

Friday, 20th May 2016, 11:46 am
Updated Friday, 20th May 2016, 12:50 pm
Albert Campbell receiving his certificate

The prestigious honour was awarded to John Richardson MBE, Albert Campbell, Clive Wood and Pauline Bradberry JP at the full council meeting on Wednesday.

Steven North, leader of East Northamptonshire Council, said: “With more over 100 years of service combined, these former councillors have contributed so much to the work of the council through their caring personalities, wisdom, knowledge and vast experience.

“They have served the council and people of East Northamptonshire with enormous dedication and the council agreed that they each be honoured by the conferring of the title of Honorary Alderman.”

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Clive Wood receiving his certificate

John Richardson MBE has been a councillor, chairman and leader of East Northamptonshire Council and was instrumental in the transference of council housing stock to ensure local people enjoyed good quality homes.

Having worked with local schools, charities and voluntary groups, John has been a pillar of the community for many years and is highly respected for his dedication to the local area.

As well as serving on Raunds Town Council and East Northamptonshire Council, Albert Campbell has worked tirelessly in Raunds Fire Service and as a volunteer in many Raunds organisations and community events.

He has also enjoyed 60 years as a member of Raunds Royal British Legion.

Having spent 35 years on East Northamptonshire Council, Clive Wood is one of the few councillors to have been chairman twice.

He was also chairman of the environmental service committee which introduced the dog warden service to the district.

His passion for East Northamptonshire has shone through in his work with the Campaign to Protect Rural England, with East Midlands Museum Service and as a governor at three schools.

Born and bred in Easton-On-The-Hill, Pauline Bradberry JP was commended for her years of service to the district council, as a parish councillor, as a school governor and in many community projects.

Clive Wood receiving his certificate

She served on 10 district council committees over the years and enjoyed a year as chairman 2006-07 representing the district at many events.

Pauline was unable to attend the service so Cllr Glenvil Greenwood-Smith accepted the award on her behalf.

The newly elected chairman, Rupert Reichold, presented each Honorary Alderman with their ceremonial medal and certificate.

The Local Government Act 1972 empowers the district council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the council, rendered eminent services as past members of that council, but who are not current councillors.

An Honorary Alderman may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the council may decide, but does not have any statutory rights, and cannot sit but can attend council or committee meetings.