Corby’s sports stars honoured

All of the nominees and winners at the 2013 Corby Sports Awards
All of the nominees and winners at the 2013 Corby Sports Awards
Share this article

Corby’s sporting stars were honoured at a special awards event on Thursday evening, October 17.

Corby Borough Council announced the winners of the 2013 Sports Awards at the annual awards ceremony at the Best Western Hotel, Corby.

This year, nearly 40 nominees were shortlisted for the awards, making the panel’s decision to pick out the winners harder than ever due to the level of sporting talent in Corby getting stronger and stronger each year.

Local teams, individual sports people, their families, friends and supporters filled the awards ceremony to cheer on each and every shortlister, making the night one to remember.

To get the evening off to a flying start there was a Q&A session with Joe Feely of the Corby Judo Kwai Club, and an impressive performance from the Corby Gymnastics Academy Display.

Leader of Corby Borough Council, Cllr Tom Beattie, said: “What a fantastic evening for the annual Sports Awards – every year the level of nominations is outstanding but each year just seems to get stronger, and this year has evidently been no exception.

“A big congratulations to, not only the winners of the 2013 Awards, but also everyone who was nominated and shortlisted who have all achieved something by being recognised.

“Thank you all for the hard work and dedication you give to sport and for representing Corby. A huge well done to all of the winners and I wish them all the very best of luck for their future.”

Tne winners were:

Young sports person of the year 2013

Joe Tyler

Young Leader of the Year 2013

Jamie Leigh Gourlay

Community Club of the Year 2013

Corby Archers

Get Active 2013

Alison Butterworth

Volunteer of the Year 2013

Corinne Wilson & Tracey Shepard

Team of the Year 2013

Corby Under 14 Boys Tennis Team

Coach of the Year 2013

Alex Barrowman Snr

Long Time Contribution to Sport 2013

Joe Feely

Local Sportsperson of the Year 2013

Sheeba Young