Choose your Kettering sports personality

Sports Personality of the Year 2012 winner Amanda Harris, presented by Cllr Jim Hakewill
Sports Personality of the Year 2012 winner Amanda Harris, presented by Cllr Jim Hakewill
Share this article

People have been encouraged to vote and earn recognition for their sports personality of the year.

Six candidates have been nominated for this year’s gong, with the winner being announced at the sports awards at Wicksteed Park on Thursday, October 24.

The candidates include the founder of a street fitness club, Anton Guidera, who established The Compound at the William Knibb Centre.

Another nominee is Charlotte Bull, a former gymnast who has run the not-for-profit North Northants Gymnastics Club for 10 years.

Athletics club Kettering Town Harriers has also received a nomination after securing promotion into division three of the Midland League as champions.

Martin Watts, who formed Mawsley Touch Rugby club in September 2012 to encourage participation in sport in the community, has also made the shortlist.

The England Touch Association is using the club as a model for the creation of others across the country.

People can also vote for Robert Taylor, who in August became the youngest ever winner of a Daytona InKart championship event.

Robert started karting as a bambino driver at the age of five.

Also nominated is Christopher Hutchinson, who has helped a number of people in the borough lose weight and get fit.

Among his testimonials was one from Olympic reserve table tennis player Hannah Hicks.

Council cabinet member Cllr Michael Brown has urged people to vote for their preferred candidate.

He said: “The Kettering Sports Awards are a great opportunity for local people to celebrate our local sports champions.”

Val Hitchman, head of community services, added: “This is a fantastic opportunity to support your local community and have a good night out.

“It’s great to see local people get recognition for the difference they make to other people’s lives.”

How to vote

To vote for your nominee, email by midnight on Monday, October 11, with their name as the subject.

Only one vote per IP and email address will be counted.

As well as the sports personality, winners will be chosen in a variety of other categories on the night.