Awards to celebrate the Spirit of Corby

Jean Devenney was the overall winner last year
Jean Devenney was the overall winner last year

The search is on to find people from Corby who show spirit and make their town proud.

Among the nominations, which are now being accepted for the annual Spirit of Corby awards, may be the Steelmen after they were crowned champions last weekend.

It is truly the people in Corby that makes the borough so special

Corby mayor Anthony Dady

But the council wants to hear about anyone in the borough who goes above and beyond and brings something special to life in Corby.

The Spirit of Corby awards are the borough’s annual celebration of everything that is good about Corby, its community and the amazing spirit of the people that make it so special.

Each year the awards highlight the great contribution its residents make to the town and the special talents they have, as well as being the perfect way to say thank you to unsung heroes in the community.

If you think someone has made a difference in your community or done something they should be proud of, it’s time to nominate them.

Corby mayor Anthony Dady said: “The Spirit of Corby Awards for me just go to show that you can do something in your community that you think is small; like picking up litter, helping a neighbour, contributing to a club or simply inspiring someone through your actions, but to someone else this could make a huge difference to them.

“It is truly the people in Corby that makes the borough so special, so please help us celebrate them by nominating someone today.”

Nominations can be submitted by filling out a form on, or by picking up a form from the help desk on the ground floor of the Corby Cube.

Last year’s winners are not eligible to be nominated for the same award again and the deadline to submit nominations is 5pm on Monday, August 24.

The categories are the Young Spirit of Corby Award sponsored by Savoy Cinemas, Club Spirit Award sponsored by RBW, Community Spirit Award sponsored by Northamptonshire Police, Creative Spirit Award sponsored by Quantum Print, Educational Spirit Award sponsored by Tresham College of Further and Higher Education and the Environmental Spirit Award.

Once all nominations are in, an independent panel will select a shortlist for each award. The shortlist will then be announced and people can vote for the winners.

The overall Spirit of Corby Award, won by Jean Devenney last year, will be chosen by an independent panel from the winners of the other categories.

The winners will be announced at the awards night being held on Tuesday, September 22, at The Core.

But before then, fans are being urged to line the streets for an open-top bus parade for Corby Town FC to officially celebrate the club’s promotion.

The parade will start at Steel Park at 6.30pm on Tuesday, May 5, making its way through the town to the Corby Cube, where Corby Council will be holding a civic reception for the players and staff.

After leaving Steel Park at 6.30pm, it will go on to Rockingham Road, Occupation Road, Studfall Avenue, Cottingham Road, Elizabeth Street, Alexandra Road and George Street before finishing at the Cube.