Awards for hardworking teachers, staff and pupils

The winners of the Education Awards
The winners of the Education Awards

Awards were handed out to hardworking teachers, school staff and pupils at the Northamptonshire Telegraph’s Education Awards.

The awards took place at the Holiday Inn in Corby tonight (Wednesday, July 11).

Mawsley Community Primary School won the Primary School Project of the Year award and Secondary School Project of the Year went to the Sixth Form Council at Southfield School for Girls in Kettering.

Emmeline Wallington, 18, who is a member of the Southfield Sixth Form Council, said: “It’s amazing to leave the school on a high (winning this).”

The Student Overcoming Adversity Award went to Matthew Reynolds from Wrenn School in Wellingborough and the Headteachers Choice Award went to Helen Weatherson from Wrenn School.

The Arts Achievement of the Year category was won by the cast of the Hairspray Production which was put on by Wrenn School.

Sports Achievement of the year was won by Dawn Jenkinson from Isham School and the Inspirational Teaching Award went to Anya Riches from Southfield School for Girls.

The Unsung Hero Award, which was voted for by Northamptonshire Telegraph readers, went to the staff in Student Reception at Montsaye Academy in Rothwell.

Read more about the awards in next Thursday’s Northamptonshire Telegraph, out on Thursday, July 19