Author delighted to be nominated for top romantic novel prize

Sue Moorcroft with a previous novel
Sue Moorcroft with a previous novel
Share this article

A Kettering-based author is among 30 shortlisted contenders for a prestigious national prize.

Sue Moorcroft’s novel, Dream a Little Dream, has been nominated for the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) top gong – the Romantic Novel of the Year (RoNA) 2013.

Former This Morning hosts Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley will announce the winner of each of the five categories from the shortlist at a glittering reception being held in London on Tuesday, February 26.

Sue said: “Being shortlisted for a RoNA has satisfied a long-held ambition as I’ve been dreaming of it ever since I joined the RNA in 2000. When I received the notification that I’d been shortlisted in the ccontemporary category, I was stunned – but euphoric.”

Dominic, the hero in Sue’s story, has a rare sleep disorder, narcolepsy. Sue explained that had she known the realities of the condition, and if she had known how misunderstood, frustrating and fantastic the life of a person with narcolepsy could be, she would have picked something easier.

But after consulting people who suffered from the condition, Sue has been asked by charity Narcolepsy UK to speak at their conference later this year.

Each novel submitted has been awarded a mark by a panel of three independent readers drawn from a list of around 100 volunteers. The readers, who are not members of the RNA, come from a variety of backgrounds and range in age from 20 to 85. They all have one thing in common, a passion for romantic novels.

In previous years winners have included well-known authors like Joanna Trollope and Rosamunde Pilcher.

For the past 50 years the RNA has helped set the benchmark in romantic fiction. Its current chairman, Annie Ashurst, who writes as Sara Craven, said: “We exist to encourage good writing of romantic fiction in all its many guises. We’re delighted that so many publishers took the opportunity to put forward their authors for these prestigious awards. And we are extraordinarily proud of our shortlisted authors – they’re all winners in our book!”