Geddington wrap up the title to swap places with Burton

Geddington celebrate their Division One title win after victory over Wellingborough Town
Geddington celebrate their Division One title win after victory over Wellingborough Town
Have your say

Geddington will playing in the Northamptonshire Cricket League top flight next season after confirming their status as Division One champions.

Needing a win on the final day of the season to hold on to top spot, they duly completed their task with a 65-run success over Wellingborough Town.

They had made 226-5 when they called an end to their innings five overs early.

Mark Steele batted through for an unbeaten 104 while Mark Neave (54) joined him for an opening stand of 125. Tom Howes took all five wickets to fall.

The declaration was needed as well as it was in the first extra over of Wellingborough’s innings that the final wickets fell.

Tiaan Raubenheimer claimed 5-31 including the decisive last man to spark scenes of celebration.

Finedon Dolben 2nd, the other side who could have finished top, did their bit beating Loddington by 82 runs while at the bottom it was Rothwell who joined Irthlingborough in making thr drop to Division Two.

They needed to beat Old Wellingburians, which they did, while hoping Peterborough 2nd were well beaten at Isham.

However, Peterborough hung on with eight men down to just claim enough bonus points to ensure they were mathematically certain of staying up.

The only issue left a stake in the Premier Division saw Burton Latimer confirmed to the drop.

They had to beat Old Northamptonians to stand any chance but ended up on the wrong end of an eight-wicket verdict.

Rob White’s 124 - which took him to 1,305 runs for the season and beyond Tim Roberts’ top-flight record haul - made light work of the chase for ONs.

Champions Peterborough completed their dominance of the competition with a 148-run success over Stony Stratford to finish 89 points clear at the top.