North okay as Saints boss Mallinder backs referee

FLAT OUT - George North is knocked out after scoring his second try in the win over Wasps (Pictures: Sharon Lucey)
FLAT OUT - George North is knocked out after scoring his second try in the win over Wasps (Pictures: Sharon Lucey)
0
Have your say

Jim Mallinder says the decision to red card Wasps No.8 Nathan Hughes for the knock-out blow on George North was the right one.

And the director of rugby has allayed fears over the injury sustained by the Wales wing, who was out cold after scoring his second try of the night in the 35th minute.

Mallinder revealed North was singing in the changing room after his side claimed a 52-30 Aviva Premiership victory against the Dai Young’s men.

He had been stretchered off after more than 10 minutes of treatment, with anxiety filling the air at Franklin’s Gardens.

But Mallinder said: “George took a decent knock, but he came round pretty soon after that and he was in the changing room, smiling.

“He’s got a bit of a headache, but he managed to sing the song and hopefully he’ll be okay.”

And on the incident that saw Hughes dismissed by referee Craig Maxwell-Keys, Mallinder added: “George North has scored a try. It was a cracking try if you look back and remember it.

“Samu Manoa took the ball high in the air and there was still quite a lot to do to finish.

“George had scored the try and you’ve got to be careful there - you can’t go sliding in with your knee. I think it was the only decision.”

George has got a bit of a headache, but he managed to sing the song and hopefully he’ll be okay

Saints director of rugby Jim Mallinder