Film festival comes to Kettering

Brave

Brave

1
Have your say

Kettering pupils will be off to the cinema this month as part of a nationwide drive to explore the educational benefits of the big screen.

Kettering Odeon is taking part in National Schools Film Week, which runs from Monday, October 15, to Friday, October 26.

More than 400,000 students took part in the national event last year.

Festival director Nick Walker said: “The festival seeks to create a greater awareness and understanding of cinema based on the concept of relationships and dialogues in a variety of films, address issues of cultural exchange and raise awareness amongst teaching professionals of the use of film across the school curriculum.

“This is achieved by in-cinema talks and on-line resources, which give teachers the tools to encourage students to explore and understand new cinematic worlds.”

Schools in the area are being encouraged to book their pupils in for a viewing at the cinema.

Those interested can book at www.nationalschoolsfilmweek.org.

The programme is below.

Tue 16 Oct - Brave [PG, 100]

Wed 17 Oct - Dr Seuss’ The Lorax [U, 86]

Thur 18 Oct - Diary Of A Wimpy Kid: Dog Days [U, 93]

Fri 19 Oct - Ice Age: Continental Drift [U, 94]

Mon 22 Oct - Mirror Mirror [PG, 106]

Tue 23 Oct - Hunger Games, The [12A, 142]

Wed 24 Oct - The Artist [PG, 100]

Thur 25 Oct - The Muppets [U, 109]

Fri 26 Oct - Puss In Boots [U, 90]